Building Cubes locks out users

SteveMellare
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2003 XP3

Building Cubes locks out users

Post by SteveMellare »

Hi and apologies up front for asking such a basic/ignorant question!

As an E2E solution designer I have inherited a project thats been using TM1 for several years with a fair amount of staff turnover and I am new to the space (and hence have had little opportunity to undertand the application architecture).

I was recently informed that we needed to do some VB scripting to create a copy of closed cube submissions to a new TM1 instance every time we wanted to finalise the cube building process in order to allow our analysts to continue analysing other open cubes - this is apparently because TM1 will lock out users from accessing the application whilst it is building cubes. IT also means we are only using 1 or a multi core machine on windows.

I understand that TM1 is an in-memory application, so I guess this is possibly part of the way the application works but obviously allowing analysts to read open cubes whilst closed cubes are building would be ideal if we could do this natively in the application itself.

Can anyone confirm that we need to resort to VB scripting to create additional instances to allow us analyse and build cubes at the same time or is there are smarter way?

Thx!
Martin Ryan
Site Admin
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Building Cubes locks out users

Post by Martin Ryan »

Interesting set up you've got there!

On your specific question, building a cube is instantaneous and if it had to be automated I'd do it via Turbo Integrator not VBA.

But on your wider situation, I can't think of any time when creating new cubes would be part of the usual business process. Closing and opening scenarios within a given cube would be the usual way of handling the kind of problem that having lots of cubes would solve.