Page 4 of 5

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2024 1:38 pm
by MarenC
MDX can be used in:

Dimension Subsets
Cube Views in PAW, PAX
In TI processes to create source views, build subsets.
In PAX or Perspectives dynamic reports, and probably Universal reports but not got around to those yet.

Just to be clear, re the last question, is that scenario theoretically possible and if so is there nothing that can be done? Asking for a friend....

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2024 6:25 pm
by Adam
- In PAFE, report definition for: Quick Report, Exploration, Universal Report, as well as parameter for functions e.g. TM1SET

- In PAW, report definition for explorations and all other visualizations

- In TM1 Server definition for subsets/sets and views, as well as input for various Turbo Integrator functions impacting subsets/sets and views

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2024 4:59 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:

MDX can be used in:
  1. Dynamic subsets
  2. MDX views
  3. TM1SET function
  4. Tm1ellist function (nobody has mentioned it, but it's a very powerful function, check it if you are not using it. For example, here I have described how to make dependent picklist using TM1ELLIST: https://advoynev.wordpress.com/2021/10/ ... -function/)
  5. CreateFromMDX, ReplaceWithFormats and other functions in PAX-API
Winner of this week is Adam for the most detailed answer (including the great new TM1SET function)

Question #15:
What will happen after you type "10>" in a cell?

Image 51.png
Image 51.png (12.72 KiB) Viewed 3191 times

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Sun Apr 14, 2024 12:45 pm
by Adam
Nothing. You have to hit enter first. :-)

After you hit enter, 10 will replace each of the cells in that cell and to the right. In this case Total Year will now equals 120.

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:15 am
by MarenC
Adam wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 12:45 pm Nothing. You have to hit enter first
Thats the cats job! :D

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:36 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:

This will put "10" to current cell and all leaf cells to the right.

Winner of this week is Adam! (and nice catch with Enter)

Question #16:
What is the minimum dimension quantity in a cube?

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:00 pm
by gtonkin
Elessar wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:36 pm ...
What is the minimum dimension quantity in a cube?
Does this exclude the 1 dimension cube that TM1Fanboy hacked once? :lol:

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:17 pm
by Elessar
Wow, I'm not aware of this! How?

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:00 pm
by Adam
Two. However, I remember getting weird issues with some client apps, so I always do at least three.

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2024 2:59 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer: 2

Winner of this week is Adam and he takes the lead!

Question #17:
Where are dimension attributes stored?
Image 52.png
Image 52.png (13.18 KiB) Viewed 2922 times

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2024 5:45 pm
by ascheevel
Dimension attributes or element attributes? Attributes for elements of the primary hierarchy of a dimension are stored in a separate, two-dimension cube with name like "}ElementAttributes_<DimensionName>". The two dimensions are the dimension itself and a measures dim called "}ElementAttributes_<DimensionName>". Attributes for consolidated elements of alternate hierarchies are presumably also stored in a similar cubestore, but that's not viewable as a control object in PAW/Pafe or Architect. Dimension level attributes are stored in a cube called "}DimensionAttributes".

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri May 03, 2024 3:02 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer: In "}ElementAttributes_<DimensionName>" cube (Yes, I've meant element's attributes, thanks)

Winner of this week is ascheevel and he takes the lead!

Question #18:

Write a feeder for this rule. Note that Volumes are more frequently zeroes than Prices:

Code: Select all

[‘Sales’] = N: [‘Volume’] * [‘Price’];

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri May 03, 2024 4:16 pm
by MarenC
Hi,

The feeder would be:

Code: Select all

[‘Volume’] => [‘Sales’];
How did ascheevel overtake Admin in the lead, given he was in the lead the previous week? :?

Maren

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri May 03, 2024 4:51 pm
by Adam
MarenC wrote: Fri May 03, 2024 4:16 pm How did ascheevel overtake Admin in the lead, given he was in the lead the previous week? :?
Was thinking along the same lines, that next week you’re in the lead. Hahaha!

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Mon May 06, 2024 11:09 am
by Elessar
MarenC wrote: Fri May 03, 2024 4:16 pm How did ascheevel overtake Admin in the lead, given he was in the lead the previous week? :?
Leaderboard with points is on the 1st post, you can check there.
There were some errors there (too many of you are starting at "A"! This confused me a bit :) ), this is now fixed

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 3:13 pm
by Elessar
Correct answer:

Code: Select all

[‘Volume’] => [‘Sales’];
Winner of this week is MarenC and he shares the lead!

Question #19:

Ok, that was simple. How about that?

Write a feeder for this rule:

Code: Select all

[‘a’] = [‘b’] + 4;

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 7:10 pm
by Adam

Code: Select all

[‘a’] = [‘b’] + 4;
For this one, ['a'] will need to be fed when ['b'] is not -4.
You can't feed from ['b'] because if it's 0, there's no feeding, therefore ['a'] will be an unfed 4.

Assuming the model already has a "Config" cube, I would add an element called "Feed Static Addends", set its value to 1 then add the following feeder:

Code: Select all

['Feed Static Addends'] => DB(... 'A');
That would be my approach. It's possible to tighten up the scope of the feeder using a conditional feeder checking whether ['b'] <> -4, however people smarter than me debate if conditional feeders are a best practice or a worst practice.

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Sun May 12, 2024 11:57 am
by konstantin-spb
Just remove SKIPCHECK :)

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Tue May 14, 2024 3:10 pm
by MarenC
Hi,
Assuming the model already has a "Config" cube, I would add an element called "Feed Static Addends", set its value to 1 then add the following feeder
Then why not set the value to 4 and do a DB to the config cube in the rule, rather than hard code 4.

I would assume this must be a small cube or 4 is going to get populated in very many cells, I wonder if we have enough information to be able to fully answer this question. But based on the information we have why indeed not remove Skipcheck!
It's possible to tighten up the scope of the feeder using a conditional feeder checking whether ['b'] <> -4, however people smarter than me debate if conditional feeders are a best practice or a worst practice.
Smarter people than me will have to tell me how conditional feeders can possibly be avoided for any 'real life' model, so I cannot accept its bad practice, I see it as an option at our disposal.

Maren

Re: Ultimate Long TM1 quiz

Posted: Thu May 16, 2024 8:30 am
by Elessar
Anybody else? I think it's one of the hardest questions in this quiz

@MVPs, @Admins, can you share your thoughts also?