PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post Reply
cgraefe
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:44 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
Version: PA 2.0.x
Excel Version: Office 365

PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by cgraefe » Tue Apr 14, 2020 11:16 am

Hi,

i try to find an easy solution to disable client.
In the }ClientProperties dimension in the }ClientProperties cube , I found the element "IsDisabled" which seems to disable a client to login.

My problem is, that this element isn't documented any where.

Can anybody point me to the right documentation?

thanks

lotsaram
MVP
Posts: 3440
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
OLAP Product: TableManager1
Version: PA 2.0.x
Excel Version: Office 365
Location: Switzerland

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by lotsaram » Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:59 pm

This property seems to be new and undocumented. That it's undocumented is kinda par for the course given that ReadOnlyUser is also not documented and that has literally been there for ever https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... 7015d.html

So I wouldn't read anything into it being undocumented. But IsDisabled does seem to be new to the last few 2.0.x releases of PA. I don't recall seeing it before that but I see it is automatically added to clientProperties on all my models runnign on 11.6 and 11.7 builds.
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by Wim Gielis » Tue Sep 29, 2020 12:53 am

To use it, set IsDisabled to 1 in the }ClientProperties cube.

Note that you cannot disable a client that is part of the built-in Admin group. The property is ignored in that case.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 117 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Using TI to change elemant names, like Biden to Trump

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.9
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by macsir » Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:30 pm

That is interesting to know. However, this property doesn't seem to work properly at least in 2.0.9.1.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by Wim Gielis » Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:51 pm

I should check my install on the laptop but I’m pretty confident that it is a 2.0.8. I only tested it in TM1 Perspectives.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 117 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Using TI to change elemant names, like Biden to Trump

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.9
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by macsir » Wed Sep 30, 2020 8:48 pm

Thanks, Wim.
I tested it as well in Perspectives but not working. Do you need to reboot the server after this change?
What does the TM1 Perspectives say after disabling? How about PAfe and PAW?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by Wim Gielis » Wed Sep 30, 2020 9:07 pm

For me it works. Here are screenshots.
PAL version 11.6.0.14
01.png
01.png (36.63 KiB) Viewed 574 times
02.png
02.png (6.36 KiB) Viewed 574 times
03.png
03.png (5.99 KiB) Viewed 574 times
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 117 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Using TI to change elemant names, like Biden to Trump

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.3
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by gtonkin » Thu Oct 01, 2020 2:11 pm

FWIW, Following Wim's process on PAL 2.0.9.2 (11.8.100.13) gives me the same results as Wim's i.e. Setting disabled to 1 blocks logins.

MarenC
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:55 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
Version: Planning Analytics 2.0
Excel Version: Excel 2016

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by MarenC » Thu Oct 01, 2020 3:16 pm

Hi,

Does this affect licencing in any way? I.e. if they are disabled are they counted?

Maren

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Oct 01, 2020 3:18 pm

No idea MarenC. But in my generic TI process, I count them separately. Up to the sales colleagues to use the information or not.
I'm planning on rewriting this TI process in tm1py, curious to see how I will advance (or not).
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 117 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Using TI to change elemant names, like Biden to Trump

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.9
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by macsir » Thu Oct 01, 2020 8:31 pm

Thanks, I am using CAM. Maybe that's the reason?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Oct 01, 2020 10:23 pm

Could be possible, I don't have such an installation for testing.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 117 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Using TI to change elemant names, like Biden to Trump

scrumthing
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:18 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 2.0.9
Excel Version: too many

Re: PA 2.07 - }ClientProperties cube

Post by scrumthing » Fri Oct 02, 2020 8:32 am

AFAIK (remerbing our license audit this year) they are explicitly asking for the isdisabled property because those users are most likely not counted.
There is no OLAP database besides TM1!

Post Reply