Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post Reply
User avatar
Ajay
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: London

Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by Ajay » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:32 pm

Hi Guys

I am experiencing a peculiar behaviour within our TM1Web environment and reach out for some help.

Recently, I found that our physical web server was lacking in memory and I established that the JVM settings were set to the default 768mb, despite the server actually having 12GB of RAM itself. I changed this within IBM Configuration Manager to 8192mb and it is much improved. I have some physical RAM being added to the server, to take it upto 32GB RAM and I intend to increase the JVM setting to 24GB. So the first question I have is, are there any gotchas in doing this ? Has anyone increased their JVM setting this high ?

We also have another TM1 model which works on a different webserver, this time a virtual one, and same issue, it’s JVM is also set to 768mb. But this time when I try to change it in IBM Configuration Manager, I cannot set it above 4096mb, it will not allow me to do so despite the server having 32GB RAM available. I’ve looked between the two servers and can’t seem to easily find why the two behaviours are occurring. The settings look the same !! So the second question is what do I need to check (or do) in order to change the setting on this webserver ?

The system was configured many years ago, way before I joined the company and, as is often the case, there is no documentation.

We are running v10.2.1 and are using CAM security.

Any pointers would be gladly accepted.

Many thanks
Ajay
x64bit 10.2.2, w2008R2 OS Enterprise Edition, 1TB HD, 384GB RAM, MS Excel 2010, Cognos 10 BI

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 626
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by macsir » Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:04 pm

Try the two options to see if it helps
1. Stop the service first, make the change and then start the service again.
2. https://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview. ... wg22008559
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
Ajay
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: London

Re: Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by Ajay » Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:42 pm

Thanks for the reply macsir.

Option 1 didn't work. I stopped the "TM1 Application Server" as suggested and tried again, but as you can see from the image, without success.Option 2 I don't believe will work as we do not have PAW/PAX so are just using "old school" TM1 10.2

Image
Attachments
JVM.PNG
JVM.PNG (30.63 KiB) Viewed 112 times
x64bit 10.2.2, w2008R2 OS Enterprise Edition, 1TB HD, 384GB RAM, MS Excel 2010, Cognos 10 BI

Mark RMBC
Regular Participant
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:55 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1.1
Excel Version: Excel 2010

Re: Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by Mark RMBC » Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:53 am

Hi,

are you certain that both TM1 environments are version 10.2. I only ask because I think in 10.1 the maximum it could be set to was 4096, and only in version 10.2 could it be set above this?

regards, Mark

User avatar
Ajay
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: London

Re: Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by Ajay » Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:37 pm

Hi Mark


Yes I think so. The build number of the model where I can increase the JVM is "10.2.00102.40547" and the number for the model where I am having these issues is "10.2.00000.36339".

Cheers
Ajay
x64bit 10.2.2, w2008R2 OS Enterprise Edition, 1TB HD, 384GB RAM, MS Excel 2010, Cognos 10 BI

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 626
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by macsir » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:46 pm

Do you have multiple versions on the server? Or going to the wrong Cognos Configuration?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
Ajay
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: London

Re: Unable to change JVM setting on TM1Web

Post by Ajay » Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:50 pm

Just one version on the server

I've checked the TM1 Application Server settings too and made sure that the JAVA options include:

-Xfm=24576m

and

-Xgcpolicy:balanced

Just to see if anything like the default settings can't be increased in the IBM Configuration GUI
x64bit 10.2.2, w2008R2 OS Enterprise Edition, 1TB HD, 384GB RAM, MS Excel 2010, Cognos 10 BI

Post Reply