Is there a way to get the Data Directory Location in TI?

User avatar
Elessar
Community Contributor
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: PA 2
Version: 2.0.9
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Russia

Re: Is there a way to get the Data Directory Location in TI?

Post by Elessar » Thu Feb 28, 2019 6:53 am

Wim Gielis wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:19 pm
Hi,

On a related note: does anyone use multiple data directories for 1 model ? We can specify multiple folders in the crg file but I have never been a fan of it.
There was a very interesting idea in tm1forum (I couldn't find the thread) to separate DATA to 2 folders: CODE (.rux and .pro files) and DATA (other files); and commit changes in CODE folder to git or any other "put your favorite version control system".

UPD: here it is: https://www.tm1forum.com/viewtopic.php? ... ion#p66007
Last edited by Elessar on Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Best regards, Alexander Dvoynev

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2619
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Microsoft 365
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to get the Data Directory Location in TI?

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:05 am

Elessar wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 6:53 am
Wim Gielis wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:19 pm
Hi,

On a related note: does anyone use multiple data directories for 1 model ? We can specify multiple folders in the crg file but I have never been a fan of it.
There was a very interesting idea in tm1forum (I couldn't find the thread) to separate DATA to 2 folders: CODE (.rux and .pro files) and DATA (other files); and commit changes in CODE folder to git or any other "put your favorite version control system".
Interesting. it’s similar to what Lotsaram said. The difficulty will be to split the new objects regarding their type and have similar objects in the same folder.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
https://www.wimgielis.com ==> 117 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Friday the 13th

stex2727
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:29 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: Is there a way to get the Data Directory Location in TI?

Post by stex2727 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 10:47 pm

qml wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:37 am
I'm in favour of having a consistent folder structure for all environments - tm1s.cfg in the main folder and Data and Logging subdirectories sitting under that main folder too. Or any other way that is consistent. Since you can easily get the Logging directory path using GetProcessErrorFileDirectory, it is easy to construct a formula that will return the Data directory, no matter what the environment. Something along these lines:

Code: Select all

sLogDirName = 'Logging\';
sDataDirName = 'Data\';
sLogDirPath = GetProcessErrorFileDirectory;
sDataDirPath = DELET (sLogDirPath, SCAN (sLogDirName, sLogDirPath), LONG (sLogDirName)) | sDataDirName;
Just used this code and a trap I fell into, the variable sLogDirName needs to be in the right case.

Steve

Post Reply