Page 1 of 1

List of subsets created

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:17 am
by ulla
Hi,

has anyone an idea of how to get a list of subset-names that are created for a dimension? Is there a function in ti that can be used? Or a system cube where the information is held?

Thanks,

Ulla

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:40 pm
by kpk
Hello,

As far as I know in TI you have only the SubsetExists(DimName, SubsetName); function.
But you are right it would be nice to have that kind of TI function and one also for retrieving the list of views.

One possible workaround could be the following:
The public subsets of a TM1 dimension are stored in one level below the main model directory (DataBaseDirectory=) in a DimensionName}subs directory.
You could write a small program to read the list of sub files from this directory and write the result into a TM1 object (e.g a dimension).
This kind of program can be started from TI process:
ExecuteCommand(CommandLine, Wait);

Regards,
Peter

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:31 am
by Wim Gielis
Hi Peter and ulla

The WildcardFileSearch function (http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocente ... earch.html) is perhaps the easiest, rather than batch files, or programming such searches in ExecuteCommand statements.

Wim

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:55 pm
by kpk
Wim Gielis wrote: The WildcardFileSearch function (http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocente ... earch.html) is perhaps the easiest, rather than batch files, or programming such searches in ExecuteCommand statements.
Great idea! Thanks!

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:06 pm
by paulsimon
To get a list of subsets, you can also use the API.

This allows you to get a list of both Public Subsets and Private Subsets for the current user.

There are third party tools that make using the API easier

Other than that, the only methods I know are the file search ones already listed.

Regards


Paul Simon

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:58 pm
by kalyan846
Hi,
In Architect, when you login to the instance
you will be seeing all the cubes and dimensions
click on the dimension which you want subsets for
and then click on displayed properties window
now on your right hand side you will be seeing all the subsets
just click on the first one and Ctrl+A will copy all the subsets
and you can past it where ever you want to :)

Hope this will help you out

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:01 pm
by kalyan846
i think ctrl+A doesn't work
click on first subset holding on shift click on the last subset
now all the subset will be selected

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:01 pm
by declanr
I can’t remember the exact version when it was introduced but for quite a while now there have been standard system dimensions that list all of the subsets for each dim and views for each cube.

The dimension name would be }subsets_<yourdimname> and it just contains all of the subset names as elements.
No need to search the data directory etc.

Re: List of subsets created

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:26 am
by orlando
declanr wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:01 pm
I can’t remember the exact version when it was introduced but for quite a while now there have been standard system dimensions that list all of the subsets for each dim and views for each cube.

The dimension name would be }subsets_<yourdimname> and it just contains all of the subset names as elements.
No need to search the data directory etc.
These dimensions are a great help. Unfortunately only the public views and subsets are shown