PAW License

Post Reply
Paul-TM1
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:20 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

PAW License

Post by Paul-TM1 » Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:17 pm

Hi All,
This must have been answered long ago..
PAW - to me looks like any other reporting tool (interface to TM1 data, with ways to plan, create, and analyze content). I do not understand what justifies an admin license. Can someone please enlighten me?

Thanks,
Paul.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 720
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

Re: PAW License

Post by macsir » Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:02 pm

An admin license is still required if you want to modify objects or other admin tasks through PAW.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2., PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: PAW License

Post by Steve Rowe » Fri Sep 04, 2020 8:22 am

An admin licence is not required to consume or create PAW content but a PAW licence is.
The admin licence is required for development and maintenance / admin functionality, but this should not require additional admin licences.

Where the confusion may arise is that admin licence people do not require a PAW licence, admins get to use PAW for free since this is where all the admin is done now.

Paul-TM1
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:20 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: PAW License

Post by Paul-TM1 » Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:49 am

Thanks Steve and Macsir.
So to use PAW, admin license is not required, but to work on PAW's admin utilities, Admin license is required.
Is PAW License separate?


Thanks,
Paul.

User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2., PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: PAW License

Post by Steve Rowe » Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:31 pm

So to use PAW, admin license is not required, but to work on PAW's admin utilities, Admin license is required.
Correct
Is PAW License separate?
It depends on the exact nature of your existing arrangement, if you have upgraded from the 10 series then it is probably additional.
If your first purchase was in the PA 2 series then it is probably included.

You need to check with whoever you bought your licence from.

Post Reply