Error Getting Subset Properties

Post Reply
User avatar
PavoGa
Community Contributor
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:59 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP7, PA2.0.05
Excel Version: 2013 PAW
Location: Cleveland, Tennessee

Error Getting Subset Properties

Post by PavoGa » Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:43 pm

@bgregs and I were having an issue (and strenuous discussion!) about the cause of this error when opening or refreshing a cube view. Could not find a clear answer on the forum and both of us had a different solution without really knowing the why. It is MDX related.

The problem arises if a cube view has more than one dimension on a row and one of those dimensions is a filtered MDX subset that may return zero elements. If the filtered MDX dimension is the only dimension in the row, the view will render with no lines displayed. We can reproduce this at will. @bgregs solution is to ensure the MDX returns at least one member and that resolves the problem.

For example:

Code: Select all

FILTER (blah, blah blah) + {[dimname].currentmember}
I have not tested since this determination, but I believe I have had multiple dimensions on a row in an older model, but each dimension was MDX filtered and a view would still render without error or records. I've done that to identify bad intersections in user input cubes. Regardless, this may be spelled out on the Forum somewhere, but we did not find it.
Ty
Cleveland, TN

User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 735
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0.5
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: Error Getting Subset Properties

Post by paulsimon » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:04 pm

Hi

Are you talking about PAX? We encountered a similar issue whereby even a Native View has to have a column dimension. A View that only has rows, and context elements won't work.

Does your view with filtered MDX on the rows have at least one dimension on the columns?

We have encountered similar issues with Active Forms in TM1 Web that have Filtered MDX which can potentially result in nothing being selected. All our dimensions have a z_Select element, which will never have data, so unioning this into the MDX ensures that there is always one element. A view that results in zero rows simply because there is no data does not seem to be a problem.

Regards

Paul

User avatar
PavoGa
Community Contributor
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:59 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP7, PA2.0.05
Excel Version: 2013 PAW
Location: Cleveland, Tennessee

Re: Error Getting Subset Properties

Post by PavoGa » Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:11 am

No, strictly native views in architect and tm1web. Yes, all the views have at least one dimension on the columns. And what you suggested is a better solution than the currentmember idea.

Was not looking for a solution. We kept running into it occasionally and were working around it a couple of different ways. Did not see an explanation for it, determined the cause and wanted to make the information available.
Ty
Cleveland, TN

Post Reply