TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post Reply
MarioB
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:28 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2016

TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by MarioB » Fri Oct 04, 2019 5:46 pm

Hi every one,

I looked for this topic on the forum but didn’t found out anything. Please apologize if you already answered something on this « bug »

We have disabled logs on a particular TI process through the good old instruction cellputs (no, cubeproperties, vcube, logging), but it doesn’t work.
During a test, The tm1 log file added 59 000 kbits after commit.
During this same test, We launched the same TI process after removing the instruction « logging :no , and tm1log file added exactly the same amount of kbits (59000)

How is that possible ?
(We run on planning analytics 2.0.5)

ascheevel
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:49 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 11.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by ascheevel » Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:06 pm

You're talking about the tm1s.log file and not the tm1server.log file right? Can you post your actual code for turning transaction logging off and confirm what tab of the TI process you've placed it?

tomok
MVP
Posts: 2631
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by tomok » Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:19 pm

MarioB wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 5:46 pm
cellputs (no, cubeproperties, vcube, logging)
Is this literally your code? It's not going to work because anything that is not a variable would need to have apostrophes and you have a wrong cube name.

Code: Select all

cellputs ('no', '}cubeproperties', vcube,  'logging');
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

MarioB
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:28 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by MarioB » Sat Oct 05, 2019 9:11 am

Thank you for your reply.

I’m talking about tm1s.log file yes . And my script is the good one (with apostrophe, as mentionned in Tomok’s message) and correct cube name, placed in prolog and epilog.

I just don’t understand why log file still increasing whereas I turned off within the TI process. Did you ever encountered this issue ?

We have a big TI process which transfer data from a cube to another with calculations, and this TI process result to a 60 gbits log file !

Appreciate your help a lot

ascheevel
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:49 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 11.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by ascheevel » Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:02 am

Are you calling a ViewZeroOut in the prolog of your TI? If so, have you made sure that you're setting the logging to no BEFORE you call the zero out?

tomok
MVP
Posts: 2631
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by tomok » Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:29 am

Any particular reason why you are not using the built-in CubeSetLogChanges function in your TI?
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

MarioB
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:28 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by MarioB » Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:49 pm

ascheevel wrote:
Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:02 am
Are you calling a ViewZeroOut in the prolog of your TI? If so, have you made sure that you're setting the logging to no BEFORE you call the zero out?
Oh thank you , i had a sub process with viewzeroout. Thank you very much !

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2258
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365 - latest
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM1 - disabling logs doesn’t work

Post by Wim Gielis » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:44 pm

tomok wrote:
Sat Oct 05, 2019 11:29 am
Any particular reason why you are not using the built-in CubeSetLogChanges function in your TI?
Yes. Reducing locking, at least that's what I have always assumed the CellPutS does in favour of CubeSetLogChanges.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 109 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Set up a TM1 model with AutoHotKey as a service or application

Post Reply