Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post Reply
kavitha2002
Regular Participant
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 11:48 am
OLAP Product: tm1
Version: 10.3.10100.8
Excel Version: 14

Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by kavitha2002 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:26 pm

Hello Everyone,

I have worked on basic TM1 Action button which calls the TI process.

I have got a below report to develop
sample_xlsm.png
sample_xlsm.png (3.85 KiB) Viewed 2433 times
but here 'Actuals' is textbox and it calls the macro which in turn call Application.Run "ExecuteActionButton", "2325345". All the menu icons are named as TM1Button. I cant see much info from this report.

Its something like calling the macro which in turn calls the TI process?? How can I develop the report like this? Is it Possible?

Thanks in advance for all who spend time on this.

HighKeys
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:11 am
OLAP Product: TM1 / TM1 Web / Perspectives
Version: Planning Analytics V2.0.8
Excel Version: Plus 2013

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by HighKeys » Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:13 am

Hola!

As i know u have to use "Action Buttons" from TM1 to trigger TI Processes.
TI Excel.PNG
TI Excel.PNG (31.95 KiB) Viewed 2401 times
BR

kavitha2002
Regular Participant
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 11:48 am
OLAP Product: tm1
Version: 10.3.10100.8
Excel Version: 14

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by kavitha2002 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:24 am

Yes I know. Thanks.

Is there other possibility of calling the macro via Tm1 Action button?

User avatar
orlando
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by orlando » Thu Sep 26, 2019 9:12 am

kavitha2002 wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:24 am
Yes I know. Thanks.

Is there other possibility of calling the macro via Tm1 Action button?
Nope. I don't think there is any supported way to do so.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2256
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365 - latest
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Sep 26, 2019 9:20 am

What do you want to do ? Using a shape or textbox instead of an action button, and then the consequence is that you can't easily run TI processes ?
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 109 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Set up a TM1 model with AutoHotKey as a service or application

kavitha2002
Regular Participant
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 11:48 am
OLAP Product: tm1
Version: 10.3.10100.8
Excel Version: 14

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by kavitha2002 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:01 pm

Wim Gielis wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 9:20 am
What do you want to do ? Using a shape or textbox instead of an action button, and then the consequence is that you can't easily run TI processes ?
yes, exactly. I would like to make a report with shapes or textboxes and call the TI process via macros. Above I have attached the sample report for reference.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 2256
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365 - latest
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:12 pm

In what client(s) should it work ?
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 109 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Set up a TM1 model with AutoHotKey as a service or application

kavitha2002
Regular Participant
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 11:48 am
OLAP Product: tm1
Version: 10.3.10100.8
Excel Version: 14

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by kavitha2002 » Fri Sep 27, 2019 6:53 am

It should work in excel (TM1 Perspectives).

User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 1959
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2., PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by Steve Rowe » Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:06 pm

If you are using PA for Excel then (your opening posts looks like PA for Excel but later you say Perspectives)

https://ibm.github.io/paxapi/#introduction

If you are using Perspectives then you can write calls using the old API but it is much much more involved. You may find some good material with some googluck but I don't think the code is widely shared due to the level of effort required to produce it.

kavitha2002
Regular Participant
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 11:48 am
OLAP Product: tm1
Version: 10.3.10100.8
Excel Version: 14

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by kavitha2002 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:06 am

Thanks for reply and suggestion.

tomok
MVP
Posts: 2630
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Tm1 Action button - call Macro

Post by tomok » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:40 pm

Steve Rowe wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:06 pm
IIf you are using Perspectives then you can write calls using the old API but it is much much more involved. You may find some good material with some googluck but I don't think the code is widely shared due to the level of effort required to produce it.
With all due respect this is a really bad idea if you care about the longevity of your solution. Once IBM kills the old API (and it's happening, only a question of when) then all your work will go down the toilet. Better to look for a solution using PAX action buttons or calling something in the REST API.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

Post Reply