display Dimension dialog box from TI process

Post Reply
Rtel
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:15 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2013

display Dimension dialog box from TI process

Post by Rtel » Fri May 31, 2019 3:45 pm

Hello,

Q 1) I want to create an action button to invoke a TI that takes an Element name as an argument. Can we create this form with action button from Architect or we need Perspective ?

Q 2) Lets say we have a Dimension named Product and one of the element in it is Electronics. Can we display product dimension dialog box from TI, where the user can select element 'Electronics' and on clicking OK button on the dialog box 'Electronics' can be passed to the TI as a parameter value. Objective is to avoid manually typing Element name for a parameter value. If there are other better options please advise.

Thanks

Rtel.

tomok
MVP
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: display Dimension dialog box from TI process

Post by tomok » Fri May 31, 2019 3:55 pm

Rtel wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 3:45 pm
Hello,

Q 1) I want to create an action button to invoke a TI that takes an Element name as an argument. Can we create this form with action button from Architect or we need Perspective ?

Q 2) Lets say we have a Dimension named Product and one of the element in it is Electronics. Can we display product dimension dialog box from TI, where the user can select element 'Electronics' and on clicking OK button on the dialog box 'Electronics' can be passed to the TI as a parameter value. Objective is to avoid manually typing Element name for a parameter value. If there are other better options please advise.

Thanks

Rtel.
Action buttons are created using Excel so you need Perspectives. Architect is a stand-alone client and cannot interact with Excel. To answer your second question, action buttons cannot trigger a dialog box. What you can do is tie the parameter to a cell in Excel and in that cell you can have a SUBNM formula so that a user can double-click on the cell and choose an element THEN execute the action button.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 718
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0.5
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: display Dimension dialog box from TI process

Post by paulsimon » Fri May 31, 2019 8:26 pm

Hi

As a side note in PAW the Action Button does prompt you to pick something at the time you click the button if the process has parameters.

However, in practice most users prefer to pick the element via something like a SUBNM and then click a button to run the process at a later time.

This is because they have usually selected the element and refreshed the sheet to see some sort of report output and possibly amended some figures. Only then do they want to click the button, which might be submitting the figures into their company's forecasting process for review by someone further up the line.

This is how finance processes typically work. Unfortunately, not currently how PAW works.

Regards

Paul Simon

Rtel
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:15 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: display Dimension dialog box from TI process

Post by Rtel » Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:02 pm

Hi Tomok and Paul, thank you for your help.

Rtel

Post Reply