PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post Reply
hardstep
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, EP, Powerplay, C8/C10
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2013
Location: London
Contact:

PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by hardstep » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:15 pm

Hi there,
When I try and access a TM1 Server via the new PAW interface I get the following error : "Unable to fetch data for content tree. Session cannot be established for Server: <ServerName>"
Does anyone know what are the correct config settings are required to enable this. The sample TM1 servers work fine - just my own TM1 server doesnt want to play :cry:
Thanks
Nick

declanr
MVP
Posts: 1626
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:51 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: PA2.0 and most of the old ones
Excel Version: All of em
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by declanr » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:08 pm

I am assuming you have allocated it a HTTPPortNumber reference in the config file? Have you checked that the port is not being used by something else?
Declan Rodger

hardstep
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, EP, Powerplay, C8/C10
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2013
Location: London
Contact:

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by hardstep » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:36 pm

Hi Declan
That was it !... I had PortNumber but not HTTPPortNumber defined and now it works.
Cheers
Nick

declanr
MVP
Posts: 1626
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:51 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: PA2.0 and most of the old ones
Excel Version: All of em
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by declanr » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:52 pm

Good stuff.
Worth noting that I think when you validate the PAW admin config it informs you of any TM1 services running that don't have HTTPPortNumber specified.
Declan Rodger

lince_1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:54 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by lince_1 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:06 am

Hi,

I'm facing the exact same problem.
I've set-up 2 instances, the first one having an HttpPortNumber, and the second one has the parameter commented.
When validating the settings in the PAW admin screen, all good for the first one, and I can see the message "Warning -- no HTTPPortNumber specified in tm1s.cfg" for the second one.
Once in the workspace:
- when clicking on the name of the second instance, it shows the message "unable to fetch data for content tree.." straight away, as expected.
- when clicking on the name of the first instance, it "thinks" for a while and end-up displaying the message as well.

Does anybody have another idea of what could cause this message ?

Cheers,
Celine

dr.nybble
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by dr.nybble » Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:43 pm

Is the IP address reported in the Administration Tool for that TM1 Server correct?
If you are using TM1 authentication, is the username/password good for that TM1 Server?
You can look in the log/prism-platform logs to see if there is further detailed information.

CathyBoots
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 1:20 pm
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Prof Plus 2013

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by CathyBoots » Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:49 pm

Hi All

I'm having the same problem as well!
It is a single server and it was working before Christmas!! I've tried about 7 different HTTP ports and I don't know what I need to do to get it working again.

The admin tool is happy that all the urls are valid.

Thanks
Cathy

lince_1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:54 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by lince_1 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:47 pm

Thanks dr.nibble for your reply (btw love the username too).

The IP address in the admin tool is correct and working (I use it to access TM1Web), and all the URIs get validated by the tool.

Username/password is correct (same for both instances), I can log into both instances through architect.

Thanks for the heads-up on the log. I guess is the interesting part is:

Code: Select all

[1/12/17 23:26:10:362 UTC] 00000085 m1serverexplorer.endpoints.serverfolders.ServerCubesEndPoint E Failed to get children for Server Cubes

com.ibm.ba.pm.harmony.common.tm1.TM1RestException: org.apache.http.conn.ConnectTimeoutException: Connect to 192.168.40.1:8881 [/192.168.40.1] failed: connect timed out
	at com.ibm.ba.pm.harmony.common.tm1.HttpTM1ServerSession.execRESTImpl(HttpTM1ServerSession.java:392)
	at com.ibm.ba.pm.harmony.common.tm1.TM1ServerSession.executeREST(TM1ServerSession.java:197)
Just checked again and 192.168.40.1 is the IP address of the host of the VM, so not sure why the connection fails, but that's at least a direction I can investigate now:

Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::119b:6981:9741:262d%3
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.40.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Cheers

dr.nybble
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: PAW - Unable to fetch data for content tree

Post by dr.nybble » Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:56 pm

If you put this address into your browser on the VM does it work?

http://192.168.40.1:8881/api/v1/$metadata

(or https if you have SSL enabled for the TM1 Server)

I assume your TM1 servers are running on the same system where PAW is installed.

192.168.40.1 is the address of the host on the VirtualBox Host-Only Network Adapter.

Post Reply