VBA TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE not working

Post Reply
User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

VBA TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE not working

Post by macsir » Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:22 pm

Hi, All

When we upgraded into 10.2.2, I found that the undocumented VBA macro is not working anymore, such as TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE.
undocumented TM1 macros:
TM1RECALC1 : same as shift-F9, refreshes only the active worksheet
TM1RECALC : same as F9, refreshes ALL open workbooks
TM1REFRESH : same as Alt F9, rebuilds (dynamic spreadsheets) and refreshes ALL open workbooks
TM1StartOrionWithAutomation : opens Server Explorer
CUBES_BROWSE : opens Server Explorer
SUBDELETE: deletes a subset (if unused) ex: Application.Run("SUBDELETE", "myserver:account", "MySubset")
TM1InsertViewControl : starts In Spreadsheet browser
TWHELP : opens TM1 perspectives help
TWDEFAULTS : opens TM1 Options menu
TWMERUL : opens rules worksheets menu
TWMEDIM : opens dimensions worksheets menu
to be continued...
When I use it in VBA, it pops up with following error:
Attachments
2015-02-18 09_22_09-Laptop - Remote Desktop Connection Manager v2.2.png
2015-02-18 09_22_09-Laptop - Remote Desktop Connection Manager v2.2.png (6.79 KiB) Viewed 2318 times
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
Alan Kirk
Site Admin
Posts: 6160
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:30 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA2 Classic (PAW-free zone)
Excel Version: 2010 and 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: VBA TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE not work

Post by Alan Kirk » Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:48 am

macsir wrote:Hi, All

When we upgraded into 10.2.2, I found that the undocumented VBA macro is not working anymore, such as TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE.
Those are very much "use at own risk", as I'm sure you're aware. But that having been said I'm able to run that macro with a 10.2.2 32 bit add-in in 32 bit Excel.

Are you perchance using the 64 bit add-in instead? Because I'd bet that that sucker was have been rewritten from the ground up and it'll be unsurprising if a lot of undocumented (legacy) functionality will have vanished from it.
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.8
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

Re: VBA TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE not work

Post by macsir » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:50 pm

Alan Kirk wrote:
macsir wrote:Hi, All

When we upgraded into 10.2.2, I found that the undocumented VBA macro is not working anymore, such as TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE.
Those are very much "use at own risk", as I'm sure you're aware. But that having been said I'm able to run that macro with a 10.2.2 32 bit add-in in 32 bit Excel.

Are you perchance using the 64 bit add-in instead? Because I'd bet that that sucker was have been rewritten from the ground up and it'll be unsurprising if a lot of undocumented (legacy) functionality will have vanished from it.

Thanks, Alan. That is resolved by reinstalling excel. Reinstalling TM1 doesn't help.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
yyi
Community Contributor
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: VBA TM1StartOrionWithAutomation or CUBES_BROWSE not work

Post by yyi » Sat Feb 21, 2015 1:53 am

Error message suggests excel can't reference the library containing the CUBES_BROWSE function. Unlike the public methods contained in the addin like tm1p.TM1RPTShowFormatArea or tm1p.TM1RebuildCurrentSheet, I think excel occasionally loses the object handle in memory.

I don't have 64 bit excel, but my guess is the addin(s) will still have the same function calls to xll and dll conditionally compiled for win32 or win64 architecture.


yay! my 100th post.
win2012 svr: tm1 v10.2.2 x64, client v10.2.2 x64/PA 2.0, win10, excel 365.

Post Reply