PAW Explorations after cube dimensionality changes

Ideas and tips for enhancing your TM1 application
Post Reply
User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.9.4; PAoC 2.0.9.3
Excel Version: Office 365 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

PAW Explorations after cube dimensionality changes

Post by gtonkin » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:46 am

I recently had to "update" a few cubes with extra dimensions to meet some new business requirements.

Anyone that has done this knows that it is a complete rebuild, with exports, updating rules, feeders, views, templates etc. etc.

I was able to update all the views by editing the .vue files and adding the necessary dimension and subset references.

Then it was on to PAW where I have quite a few Books with many explorations across the tabs.
To my surprise, the explorations rendered - was expecting a blank widget and some error message or other.

The new dimensions were available and seemed to be classified as Default Dimensions (clicking the meatballs menu on the right of the exploration)
I could simply add the new dimensions in and set the subsets and elements required.

Not that you do this every day but was pleasantly surprised and have been saved quite a few hours trying to recreate all these explorations from views or from scratch.

User avatar
Elessar
Community Contributor
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: PA 2
Version: 2.0.9
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: PAW Explorations after cube dimensionality changes

Post by Elessar » Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:29 am

Hi,
Very useful indeed! That's because the views in PAW are MDX-based, and every dimension, which is not listed in "on 0", "on 1" and "where" clauses, goes to hidden "default" dimensions. And it works fine
Best regards, Alexander Dvoynev

TM1 and Data Science blog: 3rd article - Use python to change server in all TM1 nodes in SPSS Modeler.

declanr
MVP
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:51 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: PA2.0 and most of the old ones
Excel Version: All of em
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: PAW Explorations after cube dimensionality changes

Post by declanr » Tue Mar 16, 2021 10:05 am

That hidden section in the exploration views is great for dragging in the virtual sandbox dimension as well (assuming you have it enabled) without having to go through the full navigation pane.
Declan Rodger

User avatar
PavoGa
MVP
Posts: 548
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:59 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP7, PA2.0.9.1
Excel Version: 2013 PAW
Location: Cleveland, Tennessee

Re: PAW Explorations after cube dimensionality changes

Post by PavoGa » Tue Mar 16, 2021 1:19 pm

gtonkin wrote:
Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:46 am
I recently had to "update" a few cubes with extra dimensions to meet some new business requirements.

Anyone that has done this knows that it is a complete rebuild, with exports, updating rules, feeders, views, templates etc. etc.

I was able to update all the views by editing the .vue files and adding the necessary dimension and subset references.

Then it was on to PAW where I have quite a few Books with many explorations across the tabs.
To my surprise, the explorations rendered - was expecting a blank widget and some error message or other.

The new dimensions were available and seemed to be classified as Default Dimensions (clicking the meatballs menu on the right of the exploration)
I could simply add the new dimensions in and set the subsets and elements required.

Not that you do this every day but was pleasantly surprised and have been saved quite a few hours trying to recreate all these explorations from views or from scratch.
Use PAW a fair amount and this is quite surprising. At times it seems if one looks at the screen wrong or has their nose pointed in the wrong direction, the blank widget appears, never to be appeased until replaced.

God be Praised!
Ty
Cleveland, TN

Post Reply