Cognos 8.4 BI using TM1 9.4.1 as a data source

Post Reply
User avatar
rollo19
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:42 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Perth, Australia

Cognos 8.4 BI using TM1 9.4.1 as a data source

Post by rollo19 » Wed May 20, 2009 11:37 pm

Reporting off TM1 in C8 looks very good so far: Set TM1 cube properties, bang through the FM wizard/connect to the TM1 cube (via the TM1 OL EDB driver?), publish and there it is in C8. Hierarchy, data and even formatting changes flow through.

I tried this off the local SalesCube included with the install and it works a treat in Analysis Studio which creates it's own Native MDX. But I tried this using a different cube with DB references to results in another cube with a dimension called 'Region'; and it aggregates City (nth level) > Region (first consolidation) OK, then if I drill up to see Region > Total Company (root of the hierarchy) it shows nothing/null consolations.

Any ideas as to what might be going on here?

There is no skipcheck in the rules, so it shouldn't need feeders right? or would I need to force TM1 calculate somehow? Or might there be a problem/mismatch with the Native MDX C8 is creating for TM1?.. I could paste it in but it's ugly..
Last edited by rollo19 on Thu May 21, 2009 3:28 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
rollo19
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:42 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Cognos 8.4 BI using TM1 9.4.1 as a data source

Post by rollo19 » Thu May 21, 2009 2:12 am

so the C8 package seems to be missing the Total Company (root) of the 'Region' hierarchy/dimension - but it's reading that root MUN as you can see from the 'Total Company' appearing in the analysis studio exploration. TM1 cube viewer on the right.
To get the result I need, I can drag in all the Country level items and Analysis Studio will create the Total for me, but that's no good if I'm building a report and the Region hierarchy changes!
Attachments
2009-05-20_2206.png
2009-05-20_2206.png (20.39 KiB) Viewed 3032 times

User avatar
rollo19
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:42 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Cognos 8.4 BI using TM1 9.4.1 as a data source

Post by rollo19 » Tue May 26, 2009 11:26 pm

an IBM'er solved it:) solution was to define “}HierarchyProperties cube” properly e.g. with level000 being ‘Region Level 0’, level001 ‘Country’ etc

Post Reply