Percentages vs Quantum - Best practices

ashishkmr1
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2007

Percentages vs Quantum - Best practices

Post by ashishkmr1 »

Hi All,
I am a rookie and need both design as well as best practices guidance in this case. We have a finance application for a retail enterprise. Most of the cost line items are tracked at monthly basis while stock and sales are at daily basis. So there are two category of cubes that we have, the first (for cost line items) has P&L ITEM, YEAR, MONTH, STORE, SCENARIO dimensions and the second category (for sales, margin and stock) has data at P&L ITEM, YEAR, MONTH, DAY, STORE, PRODUCT, SCENARIO dimensions. All the data is tracked in quantums (absolute numbers). Now the requirement is to show both the quantum as well as, as a percentage of sales. What are the best practices around this? So apart from having 'Actual','Plan' etc in my Scenario dimension should I also have 'Actual %', 'Plan %' elements in there or should I have separate cubes for percentages or should it be something else?
Also, the second part of this is apart from showing up the percentages, we also have to enable planning at % level. For example, the planning will be done by quantums and the % (derived from this quantum and as % of sales) are available. As the last part of the process they want to change the % (lets say from 10 to 12) and then want to see the same change travel back to quantums. This becomes like a circular reference since the % in the first place were derived from quantums.
Any help on this front will be greatly appreciated.

Hi Admin - Similar to FAQs, do we have a Best Practices link also some where?

Thanks,
Ashish
ashishkmr1

Re: Percentages vs Quantum - Best practices

Post by ashishkmr1 »

Hmmm...one week and no response :-(
lotsaram
MVP
OLAP Product: TableManager1
Version: PA 2.0.x
Excel Version: Office 365

Post by lotsaram »