ATTRS in Rules

ashishkmr1
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2007

ATTRS in Rules

Post by ashishkmr1 »

Hi,
I am new to TM1. Can some one pls tell what am I doing wrong here?
I have an "Year" dimension with 2009, 2010, 2011... etc as elements. I also have another element "TY vs LY" in this dimension which should hold the This Year minus Last year value.
I have another dimension "DAYS" which has all the days in a year and has 2 attributes "Financial TY" and "Financial LY". Both are text attributes.

Now I have a cube that has the following dimensions - EXPENSE ITEM, YEAR, MONTH, STORE, MEASURE
In my cube I write this rule
['TY Vs LY']=N:[ATTRS('DAYS',TODAY(1),'Financial TY')]-[ATTRS('DAYS',TODAY(1),'Financial LY')'];

When I save the rule it gives the following error message

"Syntax error on or before ('DAYS',TODAY(1),'Fi
Dimension Name not found"

Immediate help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ashish
ashishkmr1

Re: ATTRS in Rules

Post by ashishkmr1 »

Small correction in the problem statement. The cube has following dimensions - EXPENSE ITEM, YEAR, MONTH, STORE, SCENARIO (Actual, Plan etc)
My mind was somewhere else.
Michel Zijlema
Site Admin
OLAP Product: TM1, PALO
Version: both 2.5 and higher
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010

Post by Michel Zijlema »

Hi Ashish,

You can't use rules functions within the 'internal' (square brackets) rule area notation.
You need to use the 'external' notation - which means using DB() type of reference:

['TY Vs LY'] = N: DB(cubename, !EXPENSE ITEM, AttrS('DAYS',TODAY(1),'Financial TY'), !MONTH, !STORE, !SCENARIO) - DB(cubename, !EXPENSE ITEM, AttrS('DAYS',TODAY(1),'Financial LY'), !MONTH, !STORE, !SCENARIO);

But then, I'm still wondering why you're looking at days, while your cube contains data in months. I would think that setting the 'LY' attribute on your YEAR dimension and changing the rule to: