Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Ideas and tips for enhancing your TM1 application
Post Reply
Analytics123
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 12:45 pm
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2010

Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Analytics123 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi we are having client 10.1 and planning to connect with new planning analytics server . is this compatible and possible to use the old client with the new server . If anyone has achieved this please let us know .

Thanks,
Admin : see the linked post in this thread for the important post in this thread http://www.tm1forum.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 785#p68776

User avatar
Elessar
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Russia

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Elessar » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:57 pm

Hello! What do you mean by "client"? Architect, Perspectives, CAFE, Perf. Modeler, Cognos Insight?

Usually, you can connect using old clients to new server, but you should turn ON supportpretlsv12clients parameter in tm1s.cfg: http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... wg27048181
Sorry for my English ;)

Analytics123
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 12:45 pm
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Analytics123 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:23 pm

Yes we want architecture to connect . We are in 10.1 and trying to connect to IBM Planning Analytics .

I have added the entry in the config file
SupportPreTLSv12Clients=T and restarted the server .

But the server shows up but we could not login to it .

User avatar
Elessar
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Russia

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Elessar » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:50 pm

What do you mean by "could not login"? The login window did not appear? Are there any errors?
Sorry for my English ;)

Analytics123
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 12:45 pm
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Analytics123 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:02 pm

we see the server on double clicking on the server nothing happens, Will not show me the login credentials to enter or log me in through integrated login . But it works with the new client .

I alos have additional parameter IPAddress= T
SupportPreTLSv12Clients=T

in the config files.

User avatar
ykud
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:52 am
Contact:

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by ykud » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:31 am

I think PAL and TM1 10.x use different security certificates, can you check the versions / sizes of applix.ca file in bin64/ssl folder for PA and 10.1 client?

Difference in ssl certs would look exactly as you describe (see the server, cannot connect). You can enable the Login logging in tm1 server to see whether there's a SSL handshake issue.

Cheers,
Y

mberson
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:30 pm
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 9.5.1
Excel Version: 2003

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by mberson » Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:10 pm

Having this same experience as well. We often use the older version of Perspectives/Architect to connect to the new and old version of servers during an upgrade project. We opened a ticket with IBM and they stated that Perspectives/Architect 10.1.x and 10.2.x will not be able to connect to PA Local 2.0.x whc.

Haven't looked into the SSL certs yet, but that does make sense.

Any other feedback on this?
Matthew Berson
ACG TM1 Consulting

User avatar
qml
MVP
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:01 pm
OLAP Product: TM1 / Planning Analytics
Version: 2.0.4 and all previous
Excel Version: 2007 - 2016
Location: London, UK, Europe

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by qml » Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:34 pm

We have a PAL 2.0.4 server and our users are using a multitude of Perspective/Architect versions, going back as far as version 9.5.1. Here are the things that need to be done:

1) set the TM1 Admin server to support pre-TLS v1.2 clients via Cognos Configuration

2) add in tm1s.cfg:

Code: Select all

SupportPreTLSv12Clients=T
SSLCertificateID=TM1Server
SSLCertAuthority=ibmtm1.arm
3) copy ibmtm1.arm file from PA2 installed directory to bin/ssl and bin64/ssl folders of Perspectives/Architect installation (or, really, anywhere else on the client machine or a network share accessible from it)

4) change in TM1 Options in Perspectives/Architect:
Certicate Authority: full path to the copied ibmtm1.arm file
CertificateID: TM1Server (case-sensitive)
Last edited by qml on Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kamil Arendt

User avatar
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by tomok » Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:23 pm

qml wrote:
Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:34 pm
We have a PAL 2.0.4 server and our users are using a multitude of Perspective/Architect versions, going back as far as version 9.5.1. Here are the things that need to be done:
1) set the TM1 Admin server to support pre-TLS v1.2 clients via Cognos Configuration
2) add in tm1s.cfg:
SupportPreTLSv12Clients=T
SSLCertificateID=TM1Server
SSLCertAuthority=ibmtm1.arm
3) copy ibmtm1.arm file from PA2 installed directory to bin/ssl and bin64/ssl folders of Perspectives/Architect installation (or, really, anywhere else on the client machine or a network share accessible from it)
4) change in TM1 Options in Perspectives/Architect:
Certicate Authority: full path to the copied ibmtm1.arm file
CertificateID: TM1Server (case-sensitive)
Can I recommend we put this post in the Tips and Tricks section? Great info, thanks.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by macsir » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:50 pm

qml wrote:
Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:34 pm
We have a PAL 2.0.4 server and our users are using a multitude of Perspective/Architect versions, going back as far as version 9.5.1. Here are the things that need to be done:
1) set the TM1 Admin server to support pre-TLS v1.2 clients via Cognos Configuration
2) add in tm1s.cfg:
SupportPreTLSv12Clients=T
SSLCertificateID=TM1Server
SSLCertAuthority=ibmtm1.arm
3) copy ibmtm1.arm file from PA2 installed directory to bin/ssl and bin64/ssl folders of Perspectives/Architect installation (or, really, anywhere else on the client machine or a network share accessible from it)
4) change in TM1 Options in Perspectives/Architect:
Certicate Authority: full path to the copied ibmtm1.arm file
CertificateID: TM1Server (case-sensitive)
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing. I got it working on my current 10.2.2 fp4 client to connect to PA2 server by changing the configurations above. Just need to remember to reboot your admin host after changing in Cognos Configuration.
A quick Q, is there any difference between the old client of V10 and PA client when connecting to PA2 server? Especially from end user point of view?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

lotsaram
MVP
Posts: 3094
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
OLAP Product: TM1, CX
Version: TM1 10.2.2 PA 2.0x
Excel Version: 2010 2013 365
Location: Switzerland

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by lotsaram » Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:29 pm

Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.

Paul Segal
Community Contributor
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 8:11 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Paul Segal » Tue May 08, 2018 1:29 pm

Just in case anyone else goes down the same rabbit hole:

Step 3 on Kamil's post implies (or at least it did to me) that you don't need to add the ibmtm1.arm file to the local install \ssl directory. Using 10.2 and 10.2.2 it wouldn't work for me unless that file is in the \ssl directory, no matter which directory I pointed the SSL Certificate Authority to.
Paul

User avatar
qml
MVP
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:01 pm
OLAP Product: TM1 / Planning Analytics
Version: 2.0.4 and all previous
Excel Version: 2007 - 2016
Location: London, UK, Europe

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by qml » Mon May 14, 2018 2:04 pm

Paul Segal wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 1:29 pm
Step 3 on Kamil's post implies (or at least it did to me) that you don't need to add the ibmtm1.arm file to the local install \ssl directory. Using 10.2 and 10.2.2 it wouldn't work for me unless that file is in the \ssl directory, no matter which directory I pointed the SSL Certificate Authority to.
Hi Paul, that is interesting. My post was indeed meant to imply that you don't need to put the file in the ssl directory. In newer Windows versions Program Files is locked down and you'd need admin access to put any files in there, which is often not possible. In all my testing simply linking to an external, network share holding ibmtm1.arm worked without having to put the file in the ssl folder.
Can you tell me more about your setup? Is it only Architect/Perspectives? Are you using any VBA or any other custom stuff?
Kamil Arendt

Paul Segal
Community Contributor
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 8:11 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Using old clients with new planning analytics server

Post by Paul Segal » Mon May 14, 2018 2:29 pm

Hi Kamil,

The only non-vanilla thing is that this is running on Citrix, and the way this is set up I don't have access to the \ssl directory for the Citrix image to add the imbtm1.arm file. It is only Architect/Perspectives for the moment. I tried it on a local copy of TM1 and I had the same issue. Clients are 10.2 and 10.2.2. The only way I could get this to work was to set UseSSL=F on the server, and then the TM1 server instances are visible and I'm able to log in. If I don't do this, the instances are visible, but I get the hour glass and no login pop-up.
Paul

Post Reply