PAX dependent drop down lists

Post Reply
Yasser
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:41 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2017

PAX dependent drop down lists

Post by Yasser » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:41 am

Hello,

I have a dimension for "Departments" and another dimension for "Expenses Accounts", I manage the sparsity in a separate cube and use MDX subset as not all departments have all expenses accounts.

In PAX, I want to create two dependant dropdown lists, one for the departments, second for the Expenses accounts that depend on the first one, That is, When a user select a department from the first list, The second list will have only the Expenses accounts associated with this department.

Is that even doable?

Thanks,
Yasser

User avatar
PavoGa
Community Contributor
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:59 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP7, PA2.0
Excel Version: 2013
Location: Cleveland, Tennessee

Re: PAX dependent drop down lists

Post by PavoGa » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:27 pm

Yes. You will need a mapping cube with the relationships between the departments and accounts, and an MDX subset on the Expense Accounts that uses the entry from the first (department) dropdown.

You can get REALLY fancy and have the Expense Accounts subset even have previously selected accounts dropped from the list if that is a requirement.
Ty
Cleveland, TN

User avatar
Elessar
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Russia

Re: PAX dependent drop down lists

Post by Elessar » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:37 pm

Hello,

In PAX, you can use the new "TM1ELLIST" function with your MDX in it:
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... llist.html
Sorry for my English ;)

PTSD
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:58 am
OLAP Product: ABM Analytics
Version: latest
Excel Version: O365 V1805

Re: PAX dependent drop down lists

Post by PTSD » Sat Jul 14, 2018 9:59 pm

"TM1ELLIST" - How does one actually use this in excel? How do I create a drop-down that displays members of a give dimension?

Post Reply