String Feeder

Post Reply
ExApplix
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:09 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos Tm1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2016

String Feeder

Post by ExApplix »

I am writing a very basic String Rule and Feeder and for some reason my head is not getting around this.
The rule is working fine but the feeder is not behaving properly and suppressing zeros is not working.
The simplified version of the my Rules/feeders as follows:

Code: Select all

SKIPCHECK; 
FEEDSTRINGS;
['Measure'] = S: 'READ' ; 

FEEDERS;
[] => 	['Measure'] ; 
What I am doing wrong here? Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks heaps in advance!
User avatar
macsir
MVP
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.9
Excel Version: Office 365
Contact:

Re: String Feeder

Post by macsir »

Code: Select all

['Measure'] = S: 'READ' ;
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/
ExApplix
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:09 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos Tm1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: String Feeder

Post by ExApplix »

macsir wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:52 am
Are you saying that I should remove the SKIPCHECK , STRINGFEEDERS and FEEDERS from the rule?

By removing SKIPCHECK will it not effect the performance as TM1 will not skip the empty cells anymore?
User avatar
Elessar
Community Contributor
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: PA 2
Version: 2.0.9
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: String Feeder

Post by Elessar »

You should write feeders from fed or input cells. Do you have any in your cube?

Please read the Feeders proven practices: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data ... ge620.html
Best regards, Alexander Dvoynev

TM1 and Data Science blog: 6th article - PAfE + VBA: Commit each cell without pressing “Commit” button.
John Hammond
Community Contributor
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:50 am
OLAP Product: PAW/PAX 2.0.72 Perspectives
Version: TM1 Server 11.8.003
Excel Version: 365 and 2016
Location: South London

Re: String Feeder

Post by John Hammond »

Never put any feeder info into Security Cubes as they get evaluated top down anyway. So macsir's suggestion would work.

How you feed a constant has always been a bit of a gripe for me, since constants are not derived, and I believe there should be syntax in TM1 feeders along the lines of

FeedByDefault [area] ;

To resolve this issue.
User avatar
Elessar
Community Contributor
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: PA 2
Version: 2.0.9
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: String Feeder

Post by Elessar »

John Hammond wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:34 pm Never put any feeder info into Security Cubes as they get evaluated top down anyway. So macsir's suggestion would work.

How you feed a constant has always been a bit of a gripe for me, since constants are not derived, and I believe there should be syntax in TM1 feeders along the lines of

FeedByDefault [area] ;

To resolve this issue.
Little offtop: there is a parameter "PrivilegeGenerationOptimization": https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... ion_1.html
If it is set to T, you need to feed cells in CellSecurity cube.

But I've never heard of anyone using it
Best regards, Alexander Dvoynev

TM1 and Data Science blog: 6th article - PAfE + VBA: Commit each cell without pressing “Commit” button.
User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0.5
Excel Version: 2016
Contact:

Re: String Feeder

Post by paulsimon »

Hi

Just to clarify, as you are clearly writing the rule in a Security Cube :

You still need the SKIPCHECK but not the FEEDSTRINGS or FEEDERs statements.

You need the rule itself.

You don't need the feeder - There is no point in a Security Cube.

If the Security Cube is a }CellSecurity Cube then if the rule has an IF, the security takes effect as soon as value changes, eg
[] = S: IF( DB( 'System', 'Any' , 'Make Read Only' ) @= 'Y' , 'READ' , CONTINUE ) ;
So as soon as I change my System Cube to have the value Y for the Make Read Only measure, then the all cells in the cube related to the CellSecurity cube will go read only.

However, in any other types of Security Cube, eg }CubeSecurity, }ElementSecurity, then the security change only takes effect when you Refresh Security, which you can do in TI, or from the menus accessed by right clicking the server.

Regards

Paul Simon
Post Reply