TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post Reply
jjramirez
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by jjramirez » Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:26 pm

Hi!

After install the Fix pack 7 (FP7) i also installed the Tm1 Turbo Debugger Tool as said it in https://developer.ibm.com/recipes/tutor ... -debugger/

Now I can add break points when executing TI Processes and it works ok, but the problem is I can not visualize all the code lines in the prolog, Data or Epilog. it is always incomplete. For example:
Debbuger.PNG
Debbuger.PNG (196.7 KiB) Viewed 2130 times
It only shows me until line 238 but the prolog has 22 lines more. (it happens with every process with different number of lines)
maybe something is missing in configuration file? or did i make a mistake in installation process?

I am pretty new using TI Process and TurboDebugger so many thanks in advanced.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1720
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by Wim Gielis » Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:02 am

I face the same problem but did not spend time on it because that debugger is still new. It would be good if we could reach a solution, maybe with IBM involvement.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 105 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Looping over input files

jjramirez
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by jjramirez » Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:18 pm

Thank you so much for your answer Mr. Gielis.

PeteB
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:30 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics Local, PAW
Version: PAL 2.0.4, PAW 2.0.32
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by PeteB » Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:43 am

Hi,

The debugger is fantastic, however I am have the same problem with the missing lines of code. It does not consistently occur, ie it does not depend on the number of lines as it impacts both small and large TIs. The same TI will sometimes show all lines and sometimes not.

I have raised this as issue with IBM unfortunately here is the answer.
ECuRep Mail Gateway - mail from support
------------------------------------------------------------------------
/ecurep/pmr/2/4/24786,999,616/mail20171020-021903-cognos_support
File: mail.html 8459 bytes
File: mail.wri 4856 bytes
---------------------------- EMAIL TEXT START --------------------------
Hi Peter,

Just a quick note to let you know that IBM Cognos Support Management
have confirmed my suspicions; As this code is community sourced, it is
not supported by IBM, and any requestes for support for the
TurboIntegrator Debugger utility will therefore need to be directed to
the person(s) who developed it - You may be able to reach this person
via the Comments secttion on the DeveloperWorks Recipes page at: https:/
/developer.ibm.com/recipes/tutorials/ibm-tm1-turbointegrator-debugger/ <
https://developer.ibm.com/recipes/tutor ... rator-debu
gger/> .



Kind regards,
I have raised the question on the IBM developer Website.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1720
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by Wim Gielis » Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:32 am

PeteB wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:43 am
I have raised the question on the IBM developer Website.
Thank you for the update Peter
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 105 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Looping over input files

User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 1771
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2., PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by Steve Rowe » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:08 am

Hmmm, I suspect that the support person is speaking out of turn here.

The TI Debugger was developed by an individual in IBM, not by an external person with a desire to improve our lot.

It is also mentioned as a feature in many IBM presentations that I have attended.

It's pretty rich to then claim that as the tool was developed in some kind of off-line skunk works manner that they are not going to support it. Seems there is a bit of a grey area here...

PeteB
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:30 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics Local, PAW
Version: PAL 2.0.4, PAW 2.0.32
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by PeteB » Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:28 am

Here is the latest update form IBM
Product Offering have said that the TI debugger will become officially part of Planning Analytics Workspace and therefore officially supported, but they can't give me a timeframe of when that will happen.

With that said, Product Offering would like to look into this issue, could you please send me the TI process in question, just the .pro file will be fine. However, they aren't making any promises on resolving the issue.
I will provide an update when I hear back.

I am not 100% sure but I believe the issue is possibly related to the length of the TI line of code. I have attached a very simple TI where the 10th line (very long line of code) is not showing and then the 3000 (short) lines TI are showing OK.
Attachments
test 6.pro
(3.85 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
Test 7.pro
(67.42 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

PeteB
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:30 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics Local, PAW
Version: PAL 2.0.4, PAW 2.0.32
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by PeteB » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:48 pm

The latest update from IBM

Good news, Offering Management are going to fix the issue. It's a Word wrap issue.

PeteB
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:30 am
OLAP Product: Planning Analytics Local, PAW
Version: PAL 2.0.4, PAW 2.0.32
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by PeteB » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:30 am

Very Good News. IBM have delivered the new version of TurboDebugger to address the wrapping error. From my testing this error has been fixed.

Olaf Franke
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:40 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Germany, Frankfurt/M.
Contact:

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by Olaf Franke » Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:59 pm

First to say, I'm verry happy to have that good basic TI Debugger and editor now, verry important for TI developers.

But, I found some bugs and could not foreward them to IBM - please, does anyone have the chance to forward it??

(I) In download of version 7 I found a jar file of 16 Dec 2016 - is that really the latest version?
(see versions tab under: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/comm ... 6c68c1e8ce)

(II) In jar file version of 16 Dec 2016 I found following bugs:
(1) numbers are displayed in variables tab without decimal places (0.1234 => 0 or 1234.56 => 1234).
(2) existing line breaks are not handled correctly. Result: I cannot scroll a long script to the end (bottom) of the text.
(3) UTF8 code is probably not handled correctly or not used: I lose e.g. all German umlauts (öäüÖÄÜß) when saving the TI script.
(4) If a executed line results in an error, debugging stops without message box. (If you run the script with F5 you must guess on wich line the script had a failure.)

(III) Further would be nice to have:
(1) a "Stop" button to stop the Debugger (at the moment I have to kill the debug session using TM1Top)
(2) a posibility to set my own syntax highlight colours
(3) can handle more than 1 open TI script
(4) user can move the current debug position (for re-execution of the same line, to skip lines, etc.)

Olaf Franke
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:40 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Germany, Frankfurt/M.
Contact:

Re: TM1 Turbo Debugger

Post by Olaf Franke » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:12 pm

See attached sample of wrongly shown figures out of Turbo Debugger.
Attachments
wrong_number_variables_sample.jpg
wrong_number_variables_sample.jpg (281.71 KiB) Viewed 1131 times

Post Reply