Career Path while developing TM1?

Not related to a specific OLAP tool. (Includes forum policies and rules).
ChrisF79
OLAP Product: IBM TM1
Version: 9.5.1
Excel Version: 2007 SP2

Career Path while developing TM1?

Post by ChrisF79 »

I know this question comes out of left field but you're definitely the people to ask. I am planning my career path and am looking at a next step so I'd like to hear from each of you as to what you're doing and how you got there.

I worked as a Financial Analyst for a couple of years, moved to my current company and did the same. I was then asked to take on TM1 development, took IBM courses, and became a TM1 developer. We now have two TM1 developers. I've been doing the same thing for five years now and frankly, I feel stuck in this role. At the Vision Conference in Orlando, I spoke to someone who has done what I do for nearly 20 years (various software) and asked him what his next step is. He laughed and said, "This is it. There's not really a next step from here." Incredibly depressing moment.

That brings me here. For those of you that have been working with TM1 for a while, what's your career path? What's next for you? Or, if you're ahead of me career-wise, what are you doing now and how'd you get there?
Martin Ryan
Site Admin
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Career Path while developing TM1?

Post by Martin Ryan »

Last year I became "Planning & Analysis Manager" which added a big operational component to the technical role. I facilitated the budgeting and forecasting processes including timings, running meetings with all the divisional General Managers to work through what their budget would be and collating all that information for CFO/COO/CEO.