Subset Name given View and Dimension Name

Post Reply
My24
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:57 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0
Excel Version: Excel 2016

Subset Name given View and Dimension Name

Post by My24 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:26 pm

Hi all,

I searched dimension and subset manipulation functions of TI but I cannot find a function to retrieve a subset name given view and dimension name. I guess a TI process trick can give the subset name given these two arguments. Is there a solution to this problem?

Regards.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Subset Name given View and Dimension Name

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:36 pm

Hello,

This is indeed tricky. There is no such function. You could:
- use code (TI, VB, Java, ...) to inspect the *.vue file (public or private view ?)
- use the TM1 REST API (or similar), which can give you the layout of a view. This is advanced stuff, I cannot give you working code examples.

For the first part, I posted a generic process on the forum to do these kinds of manipulations.

Note that a view is not obliged to use a subset, it could also be a selection of elements that is not contained in a subset.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 105 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Looping over input files

My24
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:57 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PA 2.0
Excel Version: Excel 2016

Re: Subset Name given View and Dimension Name

Post by My24 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:50 pm

Wim Gielis wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:36 pm
Hello,

This is indeed tricky. There is no such function. You could:
- use code (TI, VB, Java, ...) to inspect the *.vue file (public or private view ?)
- use the TM1 REST API (or similar), which can give you the layout of a view. This is advanced stuff, I cannot give you working code examples.

For the first part, I posted a generic process on the forum to do these kinds of manipulations.

Note that a view is not obliged to use a subset, it could also be a selection of elements that is not contained in a subset.
Thanks Wim. I follow you in your website and forum and I am very thankful for your contributions.
Where is the link of your generic process, I could not find it.
And also if anyone has a code for the problem, please post a message in here.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Subset Name given View and Dimension Name

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:05 pm

The 7th topic in the 'Useful code, tips and tricks' subforum:

http://www.tm1forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=13723
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 105 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Looping over input files

Post Reply