PAW not working after network changes

Post Reply
User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

PAW not working after network changes

Post by gtonkin » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:50 pm

I have a Win 2016 server running under Hyper-V. I moved the disk image from one host to another which also required new Network Adapters as the virtual switches are different. There are 2 adapters currently bound but only one will ever be active.

PAW was working just fine but now after starting the Admin tool to change the IP addresses, I cannot validate the Application Server Gateway:
PAW_20180914_1736.PNG
PAW_20180914_1736.PNG (33.92 KiB) Viewed 204 times

My ethernet address is: 192.168.0.30 and the HNS is 172.30.80.1
I can login in to TM1Web, TM1, PAX etc. (Obviously cannot access the editor to change elements/members)
I cannot connect to PAW as it is probably not configured correctly yet.
All PAW processes other than Initialization say Running, Initialization says Completed.

I have tried the following so far:
-Numerous restarts and curses
-Changed the Interface Indexes for the new adapters to be lower than those of the HNS adapter
-Ran NETSTAT -a to see what ports are listening (listing what I think is relevant):
172.30.80.1 ->53, 139
0.0.0.0 -> 5010, 5498, 5895, 5898, 5985, 7999, 9510
I am not seeing anything listening on port 80 yet - expecting this for the PAW login/form

Any suggestions would be very welcome - thanks in advance.

dr.nybble
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by dr.nybble » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:22 pm

404 means you are talking to the application server, but the /pmhub/pm URL is returning 404.

Make sure PMHub is running. Or if you don't care about PMHub you can ignore it.

You also do not see anything bound to port 80 through the Docker NAT networking with netstat.

Try running scripts/launch.ps1 to connect directly to the PA Gateway container.

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by gtonkin » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:50 pm

Thanks for the response Dr Nybble.
.\scripts\launch.ps1 opens a tab on the browser - http://172.30.88.232/login?cburl=%2F but returns error 500.

I configured config\paw.ps1 with the IP Address the VM is using and tried to access the PAW login from the host machine (i.e. not same as where PAW is running due to the NAT issue).
I get this error now from on http://192.168.43.33/login/form - "Path not exist"
Going to http://192.168.43.33 redirects to http://192.168.43.33/login?cburl=%2F and gives:

Code: Select all

PA-GATEWAY Error: An unexpected error has occurred. See the server logs for more information
Logs view view the admin tool, for Gateway process shows nothing adverse httpd.pid and id.
In the logs\pa-gateway, the *error* log has issues with the FQDN:

Code: Select all

AH00558: httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using fe80::9d51:833:f4ed:4927. Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message
I have used the IP Address everywhere to try avoid this but not sure if the above is a red herring.

Will keep reviewing and reading.

Please let me know if there is anything further I can try or information I can supply.

dr.nybble
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by dr.nybble » Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:34 pm

Look at the wa-proxy logs to see what is throwing the 500 error

The login/form endpoint is not used any more -- all authentication is now handled by the wa-proxy container

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by gtonkin » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:11 pm

Thanks Dr Nubble - the wa-proxy log is below-It contians the original IP Address (192.168.11.113), not the current 192.168.43.33.

Code: Select all

2018-09-17T17:52:51.645Z - error: PA-GATEWAY Error: An unexpected error has occurred

See the server logs for more information 
{ statusCode: 500,
  message: 'PA-GATEWAY Error: An unexpected error has occurred',
  error: 'Error: Failed TM1 login request: Error: connect ETIMEDOUT 192.168.11.113:5010',
  stack: 
   [ 'Error: Failed TM1 login request: Error: connect ETIMEDOUT 192.168.11.113:5010',
     '    at C:\\wa-proxy\\auth\\tm1-strategy.js:283:9',
     '    at tryCatcher (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\util.js:16:23)',
     '    at Promise._settlePromiseFromHandler (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\promise.js:512:31)',
     '    at Promise._settlePromise (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\promise.js:569:18)',
     '    at Promise._settlePromise0 (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\promise.js:614:10)',
     '    at Promise._settlePromises (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\promise.js:689:18)',
     '    at Async._drainQueue (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\async.js:133:16)',
     '    at Async._drainQueues (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\async.js:143:10)',
     '    at Immediate.Async.drainQueues (C:\\wa-proxy\\node_modules\\bluebird\\js\\release\\async.js:17:14)',
     '    at runCallback (timers.js:574:20)',
     '    at tryOnImmediate (timers.js:554:5)',
     '    at processImmediate [as _immediateCallback] (timers.js:533:5)' ],
  target: 'https://192.168.11.113:5010/api/v1/ActiveUser',
  request: 
   { method: 'GET',
     url: '/login?cburl=%2F',
     remoteIp: '::ffff:172.30.82.220',
     headers: 
      { host: '172.30.82.220',
        accept: 'text/html, application/xhtml+xml, image/jxr, */*',
        referer: 'http://172.30.82.220/',
        'accept-language': 'en-US',
        'user-agent': 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko',
        'accept-encoding': 'gzip, deflate',
        dnt: '1',
        cookie: 'paSession=eyJpZCI6IkdyZjhBZlNNdHh3SE1hTE84bkVHYzFaekMzclRvNzNmIiwiY3JlYXRlZCI6MTUzNzIwNjc1MH0=',
        'x-forwarded-proto': 'http',
        'x-forwarded-for': '172.30.80.1',
        'x-forwarded-host': '172.30.82.220',
        'x-forwarded-server': 'pa-gateway',
        connection: 'Keep-Alive',
        'ba-watson-gateway': 'location=http://wa-proxy:1331;',
        'ba-sso-authenticity': 'blank',
        'ba-sso-user': 'uid=;mail=;cn=Anonymous;loginId=anonymous;loginIdSource=;sessionUUID=Grf8AfSMtxwHMaLO8nEGc1ZzC3rTo73f;',
        'ba-cam-passport': '',
        'ba-scx-subscription': 'tid=null;userid=null;accountid=null;partid=anonymous;',
        'ba-process': 'enabled=false;',
        'ba-share': 'enabled=false;',
        'ba-admin': 'enabled=false;',
        'ba-modeling': 'enabled=false;',
        'ba-social': 'enabled=false;',
        'ba-common_save': 'explicit=false;',
        'ba-graduatedui': 'enabled=false;',
        'ba-welcome': 'largeUpload=disabled;multi-user=enabled;enableWebsheets=true;customFolders=enabled;globalAsk=false;newSamples=false;useCollect=true;smallBanner=true;isBIBannerEnabled=false;isWABannerEnabled=false;',
        'ba-gemini': 'profile=prod;dimensionEditor=enabled;dimensionEditorNewTab=enabled;alternateHierarchy=enabled;allowDynamicSetToStaticInSetEditorWidget=enabled;uploadDataset=disabled;supportMDXInWebsheets=enabled;supportSelectHierarchies=enabled;',
        'ba-tm1servers': 'prod=%5B%7B%22host%22%3A%22192.168.11.113%22%2C%22isSSL%22%3Atrue%2C%22port%22%3A5898%2C%22tcpPort%22%3A5498%2C%22servers%22%3A%5B%5D%7D%5D;',
        'ba-cam-servlet': 'url=http%3A%2F%2Fibmcognoshost%3A9300%2Fp2pd%2Fservlet%2Fdispatch;' } },
  worker: 6 }
My GO_New_Stores model is running and I can log in via Architect. Does not contain any IP Addresses or hard-coded names:

Code: Select all

[TM1S]
DistributedPlanningOutputDir=tunit
PersistentFeeders=T
ForceReevaluationOfFeedersForFedCellsOnDataChange=T
DataBaseDirectory=datafiles
LoggingDirectory=logfiles
ServerName=GO_New_Stores
PortNumber=45557
AdminHost=
Language=eng
Protocol=tcp
AllowSeparateNandCRules = T
NetworkFrame=   
SaveTime=   
DownTime=   
RuleTraceOn=   
RunningInBackground=T
EnableNewHierarchyCreation=T
HTTPPortNumber=5010
EnableTIDebugging=T
UseSSL=T
IntegratedSecurityMode=1
I am not sure where PAW is getting the 192.168.11.113 address from.

Please could you review and let me know if there is something else I should check/change. Thank you.

dr.nybble
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by dr.nybble » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:02 pm

Verify that the config/paw.ps1 file contains the correct values (if you clicked "Update" in the Administration Tool it should).

If so, run scripts/paw.ps1; this should cause the bss-init service to run and update the user profile with the correct URLs.

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by gtonkin » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:32 am

Hi Dr Nybble, think we are getting closer.

After executing paw.ps1 and starting the Admin tool, I am able to validate and update again.
When checking services however, Gateway shows as Exited, no logs found for Gateway (and in the PA-Gateway folder)
Restarting the server causing the Admin tool to exit with an exception: Execution failed with exit code 1

I have tried rebooting after a successful update but starting the Admin tool and checking services always shows that the Gateway service has exited.

What can you recommend?

Thank you.

Edit: tried to start PA-Gateway manually via Docker start PA-Gateway and received:
Error response from daemon: failed to create endpoint pa-gateway on network nat: HNS failed with error : The object already exists.
Error: failed to start containers: pa-gateway

Edit 2: ran 'docker system prune' and restarted the admintool - may have broken the PA-Gateway as it just says Created and status is ? - starting it crashes the admintool with the error above.

dr.nybble
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by dr.nybble » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:35 pm

The joys of Docker on Windows!

Try to use the Microsoft-supplied tool to clean up the networking:

https://github.com/MicrosoftDocs/Virtua ... Networking

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: PAW not working after network changes

Post by gtonkin » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:15 am

Definitely lots of fun!

No joy yet however - I have tried the script and run it with the cleanup.
At this stage I think I may need to re-install - my PA-Gateway service will just not start and seems to crash the Admin Tool each time.
Going to give this a break for a day or two and see if a fresh mind sorts it.

Post Reply