How to change configurations for PAW

Post Reply
User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Wed Aug 22, 2018 12:55 am

Hi,
After reading the guide below,
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... _file.html
If I change any configuration in paw.ps1, and I open up the administration tool to click on Update button,
The PAW is restarted, but change still hasn't been made? Any idea?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1.1 and 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by paulsimon » Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:00 pm

Hi

Further down that guidance it says you can change the parameters by either editing paw.ps1 or by using the PAW Admin Tool. I would suggest using the PAW Admin Tool. That seems to work for us.

Regards

Paul Simon

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:27 pm

Alright, what I want to modify is the following bits:
# The PAW login session timeout. Default is 60 minutes.
# Amount of time a session can go unused before it is no longer valid.
# Specify a positive integer followed by a unit of time, which can be hours (h),
# minutes (m), or seconds (s). For example, specify 30 seconds as 30s.
# You can include multiple values in a single entry. For example, 1m30s is
# equivalent to 90 seconds.
$env:SessionTimeout="60m"
I put
$env:SessionTimeout="2h"
into paw.ps1 which is supposed to overwrite the default 1 hour and restart the PAW. It looks like the change hasn't take effect after testing. The session was still timeout in one hour.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Thu Aug 23, 2018 1:09 am

Even after reloading the docker image, it still doesn't work. How do I make changes which are not in the PAW admin tool?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

dr.nybble
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by dr.nybble » Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:23 pm

Run scripts/paw.ps1

Any impacted containers will be re-created with the updated environment variables.

This is the equivalent of clicking the "Start" button in the Admin Tool.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:08 pm

dr.nybble wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:23 pm
Run scripts/paw.ps1

Any impacted containers will be re-created with the updated environment variables.

This is the equivalent of clicking the "Start" button in the Admin Tool.
Thanks for your advice. I executed scripts/paw.ps1 successfully but the session still failed with authentication error in one hour.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:16 am

The error msg is saying "Unable to refresh contents of widgets. ....httpStatusCode:401,authenticate..."
Looks like the http request of keeping-alive is fixed to 60 minutes currently.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

dr.nybble
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by dr.nybble » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:37 pm

What authentication mode is configured?

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:07 pm

CAM Security with SSO enabled in this version.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

dr.nybble
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2007

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by dr.nybble » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:22 pm

Since the 401 you received was from TM1, not PAW, it appears that the underlying CAM passport timed out. You may need to also adjust that on the CA/BI side.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: How to change configurations for PAW

Post by macsir » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:33 pm

dr.nybble wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:22 pm
Since the 401 you received was from TM1, not PAW, it appears that the underlying CAM passport timed out. You may need to also adjust that on the CA/BI side.
Thanks for that. I tried to change "Inactivity timeout in seconds" in Cognos configuration. It still didn't work.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

Post Reply