TI: Process Options - Rebuild sheet

Post Reply
Dimix
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:53 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

TI: Process Options - Rebuild sheet

Post by Dimix » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:13 pm

Hi all

Noticed a change in when a success/failure message is shown, before or after the sheet is rebuilt. In 10.2.2 the message is shown after the sheet is rebuilt, in PA 2.0 (11.1.0.30) it's shown before.

Have you run into this, is it a bug/new feature?

TI.png
TI.png (6.98 KiB) Viewed 165 times

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: TI: Process Options - Rebuild sheet

Post by macsir » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:09 pm

Interesting, have you tested it yet?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

Dimix
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:53 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: TI: Process Options - Rebuild sheet

Post by Dimix » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:29 am

Yes, I'm running the two versions in parallel on two servers, and it's a clear difference. This is an issue in my case as I want to display a dynamic success message. My process reads data from a DW, and I store # read transactions in a log cube. A DBRW will retrieve this information, which will then be included in the success message. E.g. 'Number of transactions read: 123456'. Now, if the message is displayed before the sheet is rebuilt/recalculated, the success message will show transactions read from the previous execution. I have to run the same process twice to show the correct success message.

I have also noticed this with confirmation dialog. I click No, I don't want to run the process, but the sheet is still rebuilt after that I click No.

Mark RMBC
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:55 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1.1
Excel Version: Excel 2010

Re: TI: Process Options - Rebuild sheet

Post by Mark RMBC » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:19 am

Hi,

I also have a number of processes which display messages to end users which are dependent on an updated value in a cube, so this would require some rewriting of the code!

I can only hope there is some kind of option to to switch to classic method in PA!

Post Reply