Add new dimension to existing cube

Patrick Gr
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2010

Add new dimension to existing cube

Post by Patrick Gr »

Hello,

I'm very new to TM1 10.2.2. I need help for adding a new dimension to existing cube. The cube is dependant to many other cubes through rules and maybe processes. I tried in performance modeler to affect existing data of the cube to a specific element of my dimension. But performance modeler had crashed. is it OK to add dimension even if there is dependencies? is it why it craches? Is there any other way to proceed?
tomok
MVP
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013

Re: Add new dimension to existing cube

Post by tomok »

You can't add a new dimension to an existing cube. Performance Modeler can do it but it is an afterthought type thing and I would never trust that it can do it right. If the cube is linked to other cubes via rules and processes then I can almost guarantee that PM can not do it completely. You are going to have to delete the cube and rebuild with the new dimension. This means you are going to have to export out all the data and put together a plan for loading it back in to the new cube. Depending on how much data there is it may be easier to use a processing worksheet. If it is a lot of data you'll need to create a TI process to do it. Then you'll need to consult your documentation to figure out where you'll need to look for rules and processes that may need modifying to account for the new dimension. This is not a trivial task by any means, especially if the cube has been in production for a while. Good luck.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/
Wim Gielis
MVP
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.9.18
Excel Version: Microsoft 365

Post by Wim Gielis »

Patrick Gr wrote: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:06 pmIs there any other way to proceed?