String Feeder

Post Reply
ExApplix
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:09 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos Tm1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2003

String Feeder

Post by ExApplix » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:43 pm

I am writing a very basic String Rule and Feeder and for some reason my head is not getting around this.
The rule is working fine but the feeder is not behaving properly and suppressing zeros is not working.
The simplified version of the my Rules/feeders as follows:

Code: Select all

SKIPCHECK; 
FEEDSTRINGS;
['Measure'] = S: 'READ' ; 

FEEDERS;
[] => 	['Measure'] ; 
What I am doing wrong here? Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks heaps in advance!

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: String Feeder

Post by macsir » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:52 am

Code: Select all

['Measure'] = S: 'READ' ;
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

ExApplix
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:09 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos Tm1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2003

Re: String Feeder

Post by ExApplix » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:04 am

macsir wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:52 am
Are you saying that I should remove the SKIPCHECK , STRINGFEEDERS and FEEDERS from the rule?

By removing SKIPCHECK will it not effect the performance as TM1 will not skip the empty cells anymore?

User avatar
Elessar
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: String Feeder

Post by Elessar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:18 am

You should write feeders from fed or input cells. Do you have any in your cube?

Please read the Feeders proven practices: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data ... ge620.html
Sorry for my English ;)

John Hammond
Community Contributor
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1/PM/Cafe
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: City of London

Re: String Feeder

Post by John Hammond » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:34 pm

Never put any feeder info into Security Cubes as they get evaluated top down anyway. So macsir's suggestion would work.

How you feed a constant has always been a bit of a gripe for me, since constants are not derived, and I believe there should be syntax in TM1 feeders along the lines of

FeedByDefault [area] ;

To resolve this issue.

User avatar
Elessar
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: String Feeder

Post by Elessar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:30 pm

John Hammond wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:34 pm
Never put any feeder info into Security Cubes as they get evaluated top down anyway. So macsir's suggestion would work.

How you feed a constant has always been a bit of a gripe for me, since constants are not derived, and I believe there should be syntax in TM1 feeders along the lines of

FeedByDefault [area] ;

To resolve this issue.
Little offtop: there is a parameter "PrivilegeGenerationOptimization": https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... ion_1.html
If it is set to T, you need to feed cells in CellSecurity cube.

But I've never heard of anyone using it
Sorry for my English ;)

User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1.1 and 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: String Feeder

Post by paulsimon » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:51 pm

Hi

Just to clarify, as you are clearly writing the rule in a Security Cube :

You still need the SKIPCHECK but not the FEEDSTRINGS or FEEDERs statements.

You need the rule itself.

You don't need the feeder - There is no point in a Security Cube.

If the Security Cube is a }CellSecurity Cube then if the rule has an IF, the security takes effect as soon as value changes, eg
[] = S: IF( DB( 'System', 'Any' , 'Make Read Only' ) @= 'Y' , 'READ' , CONTINUE ) ;
So as soon as I change my System Cube to have the value Y for the Make Read Only measure, then the all cells in the cube related to the CellSecurity cube will go read only.

However, in any other types of Security Cube, eg }CubeSecurity, }ElementSecurity, then the security change only takes effect when you Refresh Security, which you can do in TI, or from the menus accessed by right clicking the server.

Regards

Paul Simon

Post Reply