Modifying Set Editor Defaults

Post Reply
jorelb
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:41 am
OLAP Product: IBM Planning Analytics 2.0.30
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013 - 2016

Modifying Set Editor Defaults

Post by jorelb » Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:02 pm

Is there a way to modify the Set Editor Default?

We have a large dimension and users do not want to dig through all the members as the set editor is set to default to all members.

How can I change the set editor to default to a specific subset.

Tha

User avatar
Alan Kirk
Site Admin
Posts: 5801
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:30 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 64 bit moving to 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Modifying Set Editor Defaults

Post by Alan Kirk » Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:37 pm

jorelb wrote:
Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:02 pm
Is there a way to modify the Set Editor Default?

We have a large dimension and users do not want to dig through all the members as the set editor is set to default to all members.

How can I change the set editor to default to a specific subset.

Tha
You do that by defining the public subset named Default to just the elements that you want to appear when a user opens the subset editor.

Better still, you also train your users to create their own Default subsets so that only the elements that are relevant to them will appear. (Unfortunately there's no practical way of centralising that process.)
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.

jorelb
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:41 am
OLAP Product: IBM Planning Analytics 2.0.30
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013 - 2016

Re: Modifying Set Editor Defaults

Post by jorelb » Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:15 pm

Alan,

We do have Default public subsets in the dimensions. However, the Planning Analytics' subset dropdown defaults to All Members.
Is there a way to change the All Members to the Default public subset?

Thank you

User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 1773
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2., PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: Modifying Set Editor Defaults

Post by Steve Rowe » Thu Jan 25, 2018 5:12 pm

You can use the }HierarchyProperties cube to control the default member in PAW, discussed in here https://community.watsonanalytics.com/d ... namic.html on IBMs forum.

I'm not sure that this is exactly what you are asking for though, maybe you need to save a default view with the default subsets?

Where exactly are you using the subset dropdown and what style of report?

User avatar
Alan Kirk
Site Admin
Posts: 5801
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:30 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 64 bit moving to 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Modifying Set Editor Defaults

Post by Alan Kirk » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:06 pm

jorelb wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:15 pm
Alan,

We do have Default public subsets in the dimensions. However, the Planning Analytics' subset dropdown defaults to All Members.
Is there a way to change the All Members to the Default public subset?
In which case I'd remind you of this from the Request for Assistance guidelines:
Ensure that you specify the component of the software that you're having a problem with.
There are still going to be a lot more people on 10.2.2 and earlier than there are on PA2 so unless you specify PAW / PAX, they're going to assume that you mean one of the earlier environments especially since you have, at the time of writing, "10.2" still shown as your version number on your profile.
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.

Post Reply