Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post Reply
Andre_Wium
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:58 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by Andre_Wium » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:42 am

Hi gurus,

I found this interesting issue in TM1 today in our TM1 (v10.2.2 FP7).

Case 1:
We have several environments, but I am logged into Dev and Test only.
In Test, I create a brand new process, and immediately run this blank/empty process.
It then executes a different process in Dev!
The Dev log file confirms the execution of that process, but there is nothing in the Test log file at all about this activity.

Case 2:
I log out of Dev, so I am logged into Test only.
Again, I create a brand new process, and immediately run this blank/empty process.
I get an error message to say it could not execute the process, and to check the log file.
Nothing in the Test log file at all about this activity.

Of course, who would run a brand new blank TI... I agree it's a nonsensical activity... but still... why is this happening. And how does TM1 determine which other TI to execute and in which environment? Has anyone come across something like this before? The scary part is for me is, what if I was logged into Prod at the time? Perhaps running a new blank TI from another environment may just execute something in Prod!

Andre Wium

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by gtonkin » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:11 am

When you say " I create a brand new process, and immediately run this blank/empty process."

How are you running the process?
-Right click on process, run
-Clicking the Run icon within the process
-Action Button
-Other

User avatar
Alan Kirk
Site Admin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:30 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 64 bit moving to 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by Alan Kirk » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:13 am

In addition to George's question, where are you creating the process? Perspectives / Architect, or Performance Muddler?
"To them, equipment failure is terrifying. To me, it’s 'Tuesday.' "
-----------
Before posting, please check the documentation, the FAQ, the Search function and FOR THE LOVE OF GLUB the Request Guidelines.

Andre_Wium
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:58 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by Andre_Wium » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:02 am

While in Perspectives, I run the blank new unsaved TI from the run icon within the TI. There is absolutely nothing inside the TI at that point. So the steps are:
1. Right-click on Processes, and "Create New Process"
2. Click the Run icon (the one to the right of the Save icon)

It then executes another "random" existing TI. Well, random in the sense that it will repeatedly be the same one in that current session, but once I log out and back in, it could be a different one (sometimes the same one again). But it's choosing different TIs for different developers doing the same thing around the same time.

Weird...

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 512
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by macsir » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:07 am

Better to provide some log info and tm1top snapshots to prove your guessing.
If you create a new process and run it right away, TM1 will give you Error running the process issue immediately and won't trigger any other process to run.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by gtonkin » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:55 am

Are you running perspectives off your local machines or via a remote desktop/Citrix environment? Have seen some weird behaviour in a shared environment where users are not configured correctly and seem to share the same temporary folders and TM1 ini.

Andre_Wium
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:58 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by Andre_Wium » Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:41 am

Yes, this is using Perspectives in a Citrix environment.

For me, the most concerning part is that it can execute a TI in a different environment, i.e. running an unsaved blank TI in TEST then executes another TI in DEV.

I will post some log details and screenshots soon, hopefully where it crosses over the environments.

tm123
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:15 pm
OLAP Product: tm1, cognos bi
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by tm123 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:27 pm

Actually I just tested this. I am running Perspectives from my own desktop, and if I Create a New Process and try to run it, Excel Crashes
EMpty_TI_Perspectives.GIF
EMpty_TI_Perspectives.GIF (7.59 KiB) Viewed 544 times
If I do the same thing from Architect, then I get the error:
EMpty_TI_Architect.GIF
EMpty_TI_Architect.GIF (47.97 KiB) Viewed 544 times

User avatar
gtonkin
MVP
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0.1
Excel Version: 2016 64-bit
Location: JHB, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by gtonkin » Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:35 pm

My Perspectives forces a save first (PA2.0.1) Architect gives same error.
Can only recommend that you save your process then run - without saving, the objects are probably not registered opening up a slew of possible issues.

tm123
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:15 pm
OLAP Product: tm1, cognos bi
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Running a new blank unsaved TI... it executes a different TI

Post by tm123 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:46 pm

gtonkin wrote:
Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:35 pm
My Perspectives forces a save first (PA2.0.1) Architect gives same error.
Can only recommend that you save your process then run - without saving, the objects are probably not registered opening up a slew of possible issues.
That's why I never encountered that issue because I never tried to run an unnamed blank TI

Post Reply