TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post Reply
User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by macsir » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:29 am

Hi, has anyone successfully run TI in TM1RunTI command using password file?
I am always getting the following error,
(TM1 API Error) SystemServerClientNotFound
Server connection failed
But if I use password directly, it runs successfully.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

ascheevel
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:49 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 11.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by ascheevel » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:11 pm

We use -passwordfile in RUNTI calls without issue. The -passwordfile parameter must also have the -passwordkeyfile parameter defined. Do you have both defined and did you remove the -pwd parameter?

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by macsir » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:54 pm

ascheevel wrote:
Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:11 pm
We use -passwordfile in RUNTI calls without issue. The -passwordfile parameter must also have the -passwordkeyfile parameter defined. Do you have both defined and did you remove the -pwd parameter?
Thanks, the two TM1RunTI commands have same parameters except that one is with -pwd parameter and the other one is with -passwordfile and -passwordkeyfile parameters. The pwd command runs successfully and the other one can't. I use tm1crypt command from installation path to produce password and key files with password correctly embedded. Are you sure in PA 2.0.3 since I can run both commands successfully in 10.2.2?
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

ascheevel
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:49 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 11.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by ascheevel » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:43 am

I didn't realize you were able to run successfully on 10.2 but not 2.0.3, sorry if my questions seemed rather obvious then. We are on 2.0.3 and the base RUNTI command and password files are from when we were on 10.2.2. It's worked through our upgrade cycles without needing updates.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by macsir » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:41 am

ascheevel wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:43 am
I didn't realize you were able to run successfully on 10.2 but not 2.0.3, sorry if my questions seemed rather obvious then. We are on 2.0.3 and the base RUNTI command and password files are from when we were on 10.2.2. It's worked through our upgrade cycles without needing updates.
Thanks, mate. No worries. Could you try to use the tm1runti.exe from PA 2.0.3 installation path to see if it works?
I will try to use the one from 10.2.2 to see if it works in my PA 2.0.3 environment.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

ascheevel
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:49 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 11.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by ascheevel » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:05 pm

macsir wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:41 am
Could you try to use the tm1runti.exe from PA 2.0.3 installation path to see if it works?
I will try to use the one from 10.2.2 to see if it works in my PA 2.0.3 environment.
Not sure I follow, I'm using the runti application located here: C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\tm1_64\bin64. That originally could have come from our 2.0.2 installation; We ran 10.2.2 on a separate server.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by macsir » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:48 am

Hi, ascheevel
Sorry for a bit confusing. I thought I can copy tm1runti.exe from C:\Program Files\IBM\cognos\tm1_64\bin64 on TM1 10.2.2 server and put it into PA2.0.3 environment to make it work. After testing, it apparently doesn't work. I didn't do the upgrade on existing 10.2.2 but just a new fresh installation of PA2.0.3.
Can I have your version info of tm1runti.exe on PA2.0.3 server? Here is mine, just want to double check if IBM has upgraded it or not.
Attachments
runti.PNG
runti.PNG (44.81 KiB) Viewed 945 times
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2482
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by tomok » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:52 am

macsir wrote:
Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:48 am
I thought I can copy tm1runti.exe from C:\Program Files\IBM\cognos\tm1_64\bin64 on TM1 10.2.2 server and put it into PA2.0.3 environment to make it work. After testing, it apparently doesn't work. I didn't do the upgrade on existing 10.2.2 but just a new fresh installation of PA2.0.3.
A pretty massive upgrade from 10.2.2 to PA 2.0.3. Where did you get the idea to try something like this? That would be my first spot to look once it didn't work.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

ascheevel
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:49 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 11.2
Excel Version: 2016

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by ascheevel » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:25 pm

Macsir, got it; our 10.2.2 environments are gone so not able to test that for you. Pictured below are file details for runti, it's 11.1.4.3 I guess.
Attachments
RunTI_file_details_1.10.18.jpg
RunTI_file_details_1.10.18.jpg (119.23 KiB) Viewed 927 times

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by macsir » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:15 pm

tomok wrote:
Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:52 am
macsir wrote:
Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:48 am
I thought I can copy tm1runti.exe from C:\Program Files\IBM\cognos\tm1_64\bin64 on TM1 10.2.2 server and put it into PA2.0.3 environment to make it work. After testing, it apparently doesn't work. I didn't do the upgrade on existing 10.2.2 but just a new fresh installation of PA2.0.3.
A pretty massive upgrade from 10.2.2 to PA 2.0.3. Where did you get the idea to try something like this? That would be my first spot to look once it didn't work.
Haha, yes, tomok. I totally agree. The issue just drives me crazy to try everything possible. :D
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: TM1RunTI in PA 2.0.3 with password file

Post by macsir » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:16 pm

ascheevel wrote:
Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:25 pm
Macsir, got it; our 10.2.2 environments are gone so not able to test that for you. Pictured below are file details for runti, it's 11.1.4.3 I guess.
Thanks, buddy. Yes, looks like mine is older than yours and IBM did fix the bug in your version.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

Post Reply