Can't login in PAx

Post Reply
User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Can't login in PAx

Post by macsir » Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:12 pm

Hi, all
I have installed, configured and tested all CA and PA stuff on win server 2016. Everything is working fine (CAM and single sign on ) except for PAx. I configured and tested the PAW server successfully which is saying server online from one PC client with Office 2013 32-bit. But when I click on TM1 server from Connect menu, the login page is blank and hanging with three dots. Any idea? I followed the guide from the link https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... rview.html
pax.PNG
pax.PNG (28.13 KiB) Viewed 1285 times
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

codingCPA
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:41 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Planning Analytics 2.0.21, PAW
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Los Angeles, Atlanta

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by codingCPA » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:09 am

Are you sure you have added the correct addresses to the pmhub.html and planning.html files? If you right click on that window and click properties you will see the broken link that it's trying to open. You're likely missing one of the necessary server/port addresses within one of these files. The variables they could possibly be missing in are located in your webcontent folder

var planningServices in the planning.html file (Make sure has all TM1 application servers and your gateway) or
var pmhubURSLs in the pmhub.html file (make sure this variable includes your paw, gateway, and application servers).

Once you have the missing server in the correct variable it will complete the login. From what I can tell there isn't any adverse effects if you add too many servers to these variables to try and figure out what you're missing.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by macsir » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:42 am

Hi, codingCPA
Thanks for prompt response.
Here are my configurations.
TM1HOST is where I have TM1 server up and running.
PAWHOST is where I have PAW server up and running.
Both are fine and works as expected.
Attachments
planning.png
planning.png (18.79 KiB) Viewed 1277 times
pmhub.png
pmhub.png (16.29 KiB) Viewed 1277 times
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by macsir » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:48 am

BTW, I have same copies of those two files under bi folder as well. Because I don't do this, the login page can't be found as PAx is trying to use everything under bi folder.
Attachments
not found.PNG
not found.PNG (35.54 KiB) Viewed 1276 times
bi.PNG
bi.PNG (28.5 KiB) Viewed 1276 times
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

codingCPA
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:41 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Planning Analytics 2.0.21, PAW
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Los Angeles, Atlanta

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by codingCPA » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:57 am

If you right click and view the properties on the window with '...' what is the web address that it is trying to access? There could also be a problem with your IIS settings for SSO causing the issue. There is a possibility that IIS is looking for a file that is not currently located in the correct file location. We found that the pmhub.html files and planning.html files needed to be located in both the install/webcontent and install/webcontent/bi folders based on the instructions for SSO that IBM provides.

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by macsir » Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:17 am

Hi, here is the link behind three dots.

Code: Select all

http://TM1HOST.TEST.COM/ibmcognos/bi/pmhub.html?cam_passport=MTsxMDE6NmM4YzQ4ZWItZDA2OS0zM2QyLTg4NTctZmVjODg5ZTQxNDAwOjM0OTk4NDY3NTg7MDszOzA7&CRN=linesPerPage%3D15%26columnsPerPage%3D3%26skin%3Dcorporate%26showHiddenObjects%3Dfalse%26backgroundSessionLogging%3D1970-01-01%2B00%253A00%253A00%26productLocale%3Den%26timeZoneID%3DAustralia%252FBrisbane%26format%3DHTML%26showWelcomePage%3Dtrue%26listViewSeparator%3Dnone%26showHints%3DshowAll%26displayMode%3Dlist%26http%3A%2F%2Fdeveloper.cognos.com%2Fceba%2Fconstants%2FbiDirectionalOptionEnum%23biDirectionalFeaturesEnabled%3Dfalse%26contentLocale%3Den-au%26http%3A%2F%2Fdeveloper.cognos.com%2Fceba%2Fconstants%2FsystemOptionEnum%23accessibilityFeatures%3Dfalse%26automaticPageRefresh%3D30%26showOptionSummary%3Dtrue%26&ps=http%3a%2f%2fPAWHOST&pg=%2fpmhub%2fpm%2ftm1%2fapi%2fSData%2fv1%252e1&vers=10.3&unconfiguredLocationMsg=The%20PMHub%20service%20parameter%20was%20not%20specified%20or%20is%20not%20one%20of%20the%20configured%20locations.
Here, TM1HOST and Cognos Analytics HOST are same VM server. I installed them on the same server.
We found that the pmhub.html files and planning.html files needed to be located in both the install/webcontent and install/webcontent/bi folders based on the instructions for SSO that IBM provides.
Yes, this is what I did. Copy those same two files for install/webcontent and install/webcontent/bi.
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

codingCPA
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:41 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Planning Analytics 2.0.21, PAW
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Los Angeles, Atlanta

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by codingCPA » Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:29 pm

The sso portion of the login is working. The problem is that once it is, it is not finding your paw server resources. Do me a favor and try one thing. I was just able to reproduce this on my dev server again. Add your PAW host WITHOUT a port in your pmhub.html file. Also, if you are going to navigate to workspace in your browser what address do you go to?

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by macsir » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:40 pm

codingCPA wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:29 pm
The sso portion of the login is working. The problem is that once it is, it is not finding your paw server resources. Do me a favor and try one thing. I was just able to reproduce this on my dev server again. Add your PAW host WITHOUT a port in your pmhub.html file. Also, if you are going to navigate to workspace in your browser what address do you go to?
Appreciated your help, mate! After testing around several times, I finally made it!!!
The things I have learnt are:
1. No need to change anything in pmhub.html and planning.html under webcontent. Just keep original 9510 URLs there.
2. Copy pmhub.html only to webcontent/bi folder and append "PAWHOST" and "PAWHOST.TEST.COM" without port number in pmhubURLs
3. No need to reboot Cognos service, this change will take effect immediately after saving pmhub.html
4. From PAx, if you add "PAWHOST" only to pmhub.html, then you MUST use "http://PAWHOST" in the connection URL to connect TM1 server although testing connection will be passed if you put "http://PAWHOST.TEST.COM" in the connection URL. If you add "PAWHOST.TEST.COM" only to pmhub.html, then you MUST use "http://PAWHOST.TEST.COM" in the connection URL. If you add both, then you can use either of them in PAx. So in my case, I add them all.

Happy to answer any question for PAX, PAW, PAL and CA for win 2016 configuration! :D
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

User avatar
macsir
Community Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 6:50 am
OLAP Product: TM1, SSAS
Version: 9.5 - 10.2
Excel Version: 97 - 2013
Contact:

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by macsir » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:43 pm

If any of those steps are not right, then three dots page will appear when login from PAx. :lol:
All in all, I have to say it again, IBM documentation is just mess! :D
In TM1,the answer is always yes though sometimes with a but....
http://tm1sir.blogspot.com.au/

codingCPA
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:41 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Planning Analytics 2.0.21, PAW
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Los Angeles, Atlanta

Re: Can't login in PAx

Post by codingCPA » Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:54 am

Glad you finally got there. I was thinking that the addition of the PAW host without the ports was the final missing piece.

Cheers!

Post Reply