Change in Element Name of a frequently used Dimension

Pluto12
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2016

Change in Element Name of a frequently used Dimension

Post by Pluto12 »

Hi folks,

I must say that i am completely new to TM1 and i am finding it extremely difficult to work on right now.

I am in need of Changing an Element name in dimension named 'Products'. The element - a 'ProductName' which is to be changed to "ProdContainerName", is used in many cubes. Unfortunately there is no way to do this in Dimension Editor.

I tried to find a way and came across SwapAliasWithPrincipalName but it seems that this causes problems. Could you please tell me if any of you have used this and your experience with this command? How to go about in using it?

I also came across "BedrockDimAttrSwapAlias". Has any of you fine folks have used it? In order to use it, i guess, i have to create an Alias for the particular element and then execute this process. Is this understanding correct ?

If i use this bedrock process, will it cause any break or cubes to display any wrong data.

Thanks so much,
Pluto12
declanr
MVP
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: PA2.0 and most of the old ones
Excel Version: All of em

Re: Change in Element Name of a frequently used Dimension

Post by declanr »

I have never had a problem with swapping the alias in as long as you do it carefully.

You start with an element called “sprouts” and give it an alias called “turkey”... for TM1 to allow this in the first place you know that there can’t have been any other elements named either Sprouts or Turkey so that’s ok. When you swap them it will still be ok.
The risk is if you then delete the alias... if you had rules/TI/worksheet formulas looking at “sprouts” they would no longer work.