TI view wizard filters by code?

Post Reply
st2000
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:48 am
OLAP Product: TM1 (Windows) & SSAS 2014 Ent.
Version: 10.2.0 FP3
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Hamburg, DE, EU
Contact:

TI view wizard filters by code?

Post by st2000 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:02 am

I'm looking for the value filtering options offered in TI when assigning the data source, but without defining them via GUI.
I want to perform the filtering of vaules when defining the whole view, which I'm doing anyway by code in Prologue.
I mean these options here:
TI_Datasource_CreateView_FilteringOptions.png
TI_Datasource_CreateView_FilteringOptions.png (20.18 KiB) Viewed 182 times
The checkboxes to the left -I guess- are the GUI equivalents to ViewExtractSkip... functions. But for the "operators-list" to the right I'm a little bit puzzled about to recognize which functions could be their counterparts for scripting. :?

Has somebody a hint for me? :)
-----------------------------------
Best regards,
Stefan

User avatar
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: TI view wizard filters by code?

Post by tomok » Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:29 pm

The answer is to write an MDX query that does the filtering you want, assign that to a subset and use that subset in a view that is ultimately your data source. If you haven't read it yet, I recommend you spend time reading the MDX Primer to learn all the different ways you can filter subsets. You're going to have to expand your horizons and go beyond the TI Wizard through.

st2000
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:48 am
OLAP Product: TM1 (Windows) & SSAS 2014 Ent.
Version: 10.2.0 FP3
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Hamburg, DE, EU
Contact:

Re: TI view wizard filters by code?

Post by st2000 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:12 pm

This was my first thought, too. As I did it with MSAS or (indirect) in Cognos BI.
But with TM1 I always encountered MDX together with dimensions/subsets (and when extracting data from ODBO). So I already derived dynamic subsets via MDX inside a dimension (also used the MDX primer to learn how to do it with TM1 specifics...). But I miss something like the subset editor's expression window for the cube viewer. Maybe I think about that more complicated than needed.
If I want to retrieve cell data (for example all cells from a view which have a value >= 3), should I use the subseteditor for the cube's measure-dimension and write the whole MDX concerning all the other dimensions, too, into the measures' subset definition?
-----------------------------------
Best regards,
Stefan

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1538
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TI view wizard filters by code?

Post by Wim Gielis » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:41 pm

Hello,

If you are on Planning Analytics, check out this function: ViewCreateByMDX

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... bymdx.html

Does this help ? I did not play around with the function yet.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 103 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: TM1 message log analysis with Power Query

st2000
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:48 am
OLAP Product: TM1 (Windows) & SSAS 2014 Ent.
Version: 10.2.0 FP3
Excel Version: Excel 2013
Location: Hamburg, DE, EU
Contact:

Re: TI view wizard filters by code?

Post by st2000 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:19 am

This is, what I was seeking for. Unfortunately I am on 10.2.0 actually, but this is really a remarkable feature.
The link didn't work for me, this one (shortened) leads to the description: https://ibm.co/2fx0FYn
This I will check out first when going to PA 2.0 :)

To filter values with oldschool MDX I need to define that filter into the subset editor of the measure dimension and adress there the complete cube (all dimensions I want to have restrictions), did I get this right?
-----------------------------------
Best regards,
Stefan

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1538
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TI view wizard filters by code?

Post by Wim Gielis » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:16 am

Why not do the filtering in the Data tab of the process ?
And the Prolog tab contains a larger view (unfiltered).
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 103 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: TM1 message log analysis with Power Query

Post Reply