What is an Element really? And, why the heck is an Element Type not an Element Type?

ptownbro
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2
Excel Version: 2013

What is an Element really? And, why the heck is an Element Type not an Element Type?

Post by ptownbro »

I'm a TM1 newbie and just coming off the heels of another post where I was experiencing an "cell type is string" error (see link below) related to how I defined the Element Types for each Element in my Dimension. Since that post it dawned on me that I may not be understanding what an Element truly is in the world of TM1 and just what truly is meant by Element Type.

Using an example, assume you have a Dimension named "GL Accounts" with four Elements: "Revenues", "COGS", "Labor", and "Expenses".

As you can see, all the Elements in my Dimension are "string" data types, so intuitively I thought I had to set the Element Type to "string" as well. But, I learned instead that I had to define my Element Type as "numeric" in order to avoid the error I was experiencing. And, I learned (now) that Element Type "refers to the type of data to be stored in the cell" and "does not have anything to do with the name of the element". Or, in other words, it defines the data type for an associated data value stored in a cube cell and not the type for the Element itself.

Given that, here are where my TM1 questions come in....

1). Why isn't Element Type associated with the Element's data type?
2). What is an Element really?
3). What is the distinction between Elements and Element Names?

Intuitively I would have defined
  • Elements as the items or records in a Dimension.
  • Element Names as the value for the Element itself.
  • Element Types as the data type for the Element (now I know that is not true).
Maybe cell data values are Elements also? I say that because if data values stored in cells are considered Elements too, then Element Type needing to be numeric makes since.