Page 1 of 1

Tm1 public subsets gets cleared

Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:29 pm
by Analytics123
Hi we have an issue at times were the public subsets created on dimension gets cleared randomly.
Can yuo guys tell me where should i start trouble shooting this .

Some times it happens after server restart , sometimes it happens randomly when server is running.

Thanks,

Re: Tm1 public subsets gets cleared

Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:09 pm
by lotsaram
If subsets are "getting cleared" then it's because elements are being deleted and added back to the dimension. To avoid this unwind the dimension rather than deleting elements. There are plenty of topics you can find on unwinding dimensions.

Re: Tm1 public subsets gets cleared

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:42 am
by AmbPin
I would inestigate the previous sugestion as there are risks with deleting and re-inserting elements. However you could perhaps make your subsets dynamic with MDX instead of static members, or recreate the subsets when you rebuild the dimension in TI.

Re: Tm1 public subsets gets cleared

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:11 pm
by tomok
AmbPin wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:42 am However you could perhaps make your subsets dynamic with MDX instead of static members
Indeed. As a general rule I make all my user subsets MDX-based, if possible, even if it only has one member to avoid the problem noted in this thread.

Re: Tm1 public subsets gets cleared

Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:25 pm
by Analytics123
Okay I am using the below code to remove my levels from hierarchy in my dimension,This is the only one I can think of where the dimension element is touched again.
This will remove the element from its parent and put seperatley.
vMax = DIMSIZ(vDim);
vCount = 1;

WHILE (vCount <= vMax);
vElem = DIMNM(vDim, vCount);

vMaxParents = ELPARN(vDim, vElem);
WHILE (vMaxParents>0);

vParent = ELPAR(vDim, vElem, vMaxParents);
DimensionElementComponentDelete(vDim, vParent, vElem);
vMaxParents = vMaxParents - 1;
END;

vCount = vCount + 1;
END;

Could this cause an issue .For example I create a manual subset with two members from level2 . They get deleted randomly .

Re: Tm1 public subsets gets cleared

Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:27 pm
by Wim Gielis
If you don't delete elements from the dimension, this cannot be the reason that subsets would lose their elements. What you do is unwinding in the dimension (which is good and I also do that) but as Lotsaram already wrote unwinding is not the cause, it's deleting and reinserting elements.