How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post Reply
jjramirez
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post by jjramirez » Thu Aug 31, 2017 3:52 pm

Good Mornig Everybody

I have a master TI Process that is calling 12 subprocess inside (one for each month of the year) and all of them is writing the same cube but in differents sections. I created a cubeview that allows me to monitor what processes are runing and what processes are completed but i need to refresh the view manually using the cubeviewer button to see the last update.

I would like to know if is there anyway to put a code line in the Epilog of each TI Proccess that refresh the view after finish all the actions.I think this way i will see the updates after each process finish.

is it possible?

If not, how can i do that?
This is the cubeView, it's like control table, maybe you can recomend something different to do it:

Image

Thank you so much in advanced!
Attachments
cubview.PNG
CubeView
cubview.PNG (99.75 KiB) Viewed 224 times

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1562
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Aug 31, 2017 4:05 pm

Unless I'm mistaken, you will always have some sort of refresh or recalculate action.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 104 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Delete a cube and its dimensions

User avatar
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2347
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post by tomok » Thu Aug 31, 2017 4:07 pm

What exactly do you mean by "refresh the view". Do you mean change values in the underlying cube or do you mean recalculate the view automatically so you don't have to click on the recalculate button. If it is the latter then sorry, a TI process can't do that.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

jjramirez
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

Re: How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post by jjramirez » Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:51 pm

yes TomoK, i mean recalculate the view automatically without any click on the recalculate button.

i need to show to other users the masterProcess progress in the cubeviewer. Another option is create and publish a websheet and put a VBA Code that recalculate the excel sheet every X seconds or mins. But TM1 web doesn't support excel macros.

If you know other ways to do this, please let me know where i can read about it.

thanks for your answers

lotsaram
MVP
Posts: 3006
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
OLAP Product: TM1, CX
Version: TM1 10.2.2 PA 2.0x
Excel Version: 2010 2013 365
Location: Switzerland

Re: How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post by lotsaram » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:22 am

The CLIENT is independent of the SERVER.

Client requests data, server responds and sends data, client renders data for viewing. And that is how it stays until the client makes another request.

Any "automatic refresh" needs to be triggered from the client side. What you want is achievable in Excel (with some VBA) but not in cube viewer or TM1 Web. You could do it fairly easily in a custom html page getting the data via the Rest API.
Please place all requests for help in a public thread. I will not answer PMs requesting assistance.

jjramirez
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:33 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2013

Re: How to get an automatic cubeview refresh with TI Process

Post by jjramirez » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:36 am

I'll give it a try with vba first, Thank you very much for your answer lotsaram

Post Reply