Feeders for Rules

Analytics123
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2010

Feeders for Rules

Post by Analytics123 »

Hi ,

I am a beginner with writing tm1 rules and I am working with a Cube which has Mexico and US Sales Data .

SO basically we have a currency dimension which has values like Input Currency , Company CodeCurrency and USD .

USD refering to all in USD .

For Mexico - Input and Company code are Mexico and USD is converted to USD
For US - everything is USD .

My rules are

['Global Margin', Currency:'USD'] = ['Full Revenue'] - ['INC Standard Cost'];

This exist only for Currency Type USD meaning all calculations are done only at USD .

so should my feeders for the above rule be

1) Just ['Full Revenue'] => ['Global Margin'];
or ['Full Revenue'] => ['Global Margin',Currency :'USD'];

Is any of the above correct , if so why that is correct .

Ideally i dont want to see any value for local currency or company code currency for global margin.

Thanks,
Wim Gielis
MVP
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: PAL 2.0.9.18
Excel Version: Microsoft 365

Re: Feeders for Rules

Post by Wim Gielis »

Hello,

Sorry to say so but there are a number of issues with this rule and feeder. In fact, you made mistakes against all the important aspects of rules and feeders writing here. We'll tackle these points in what follows.

- First of all, why not creating a consolidation in the measures dimension? 'Full Revenue' is a child with weight = 1, 'INC Standard Cost' is a child with weight = -1. Then you don't need a rule, no feeder. If you want, use a C-type rule to overwrite the value of the consolidation for the currencies where you don't want that calculation. Do not feed that rule if you use it. I guess that almost any of the consolidated results on local currency, whenever you have a consolidated element in your Company dimension, will nee to be overwritten with a rule that applies 0 to these cells.