TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post Reply
wigglyrat
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:09 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10_2_2
Excel Version: 2010

TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by wigglyrat » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:03 am

Hi:

I am trying to set a dimension order manually however after rearranging the dimensions in dimension editor, selecting 'set dimension order' and then 'Dimension' 'Save' it will not preserve the order.

Each time I go in to look, the order of the elements reverts back to the original order before the reordering.

I am trying this in Perspectives, but have also tried in Performance Modeler using 'move up' and 'move down' but have the same result.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Many thanks,
Last edited by wigglyrat on Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AmbPin
Regular Participant
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2
Excel Version: 2007-10

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by AmbPin » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:49 am

Hello,
I think the order that you are seeing is the order in which elements were added to the dimension (The index) and therefore this will not generally be affected by you moving them around in the editor.

wigglyrat
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:09 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10_2_2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by wigglyrat » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:06 pm

Yes, I think so.

Is there no way to change this then?

It is for a time hierarchy - so my users are not happy to see July before June.

Many thanks for your assistance.

User avatar
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2490
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by tomok » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:16 pm

You can put the elements in any order you want if you do it through an XDI workbook.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

wigglyrat
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:09 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10_2_2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by wigglyrat » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:42 pm

Many thanks for this.

I see that you can create dimensions using xdi/dimension worksheets, but can you create an xdi from an existing dimension if it was not originally built with one?

Kindest,

User avatar
jim wood
Site Admin
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2007
Location: 1639 Route 10, Suite 107, Parsippany, NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by jim wood » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:52 pm

Yes you can. I would read through how to create a dimension using an XDI. Keep in mind your local server setting etc. Especially if you want multiple people editing the dimension. Another option is to recreate it using a CSV and TI. If you set the order in the TI or even within your CSV you should be good. Hopefully this will then be a one off exercise.
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Application Consulting Group (ACG) TM1 Consulting
OS: Windows 10 64-bit. TM1 Version: 10.2.2

AmbPin
Regular Participant
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:03 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2
Excel Version: 2007-10

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by AmbPin » Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:19 pm

There are various sorting options available to you via MDX also if you wanted to create some dynamic subsets.

User avatar
tomok
MVP
Posts: 2490
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:39 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Palo
Version: Beginning of time thru 10.2
Excel Version: 2003-2007-2010-2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by tomok » Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:33 pm

wigglyrat wrote:Many thanks for this.

I see that you can create dimensions using xdi/dimension worksheets, but can you create an xdi from an existing dimension if it was not originally built with one?

Kindest,
Right click on dimension and choose Export Dimension. This will create a CSV version of what the XDI would look like to create that exact same dimension. Open the file in Excel with Perspectives loaded, move the elements around to get the desired order, then save as an Excel workbook with the name "YourDimensionName,xdi". Don't forget the quotes around the name or otherwise you'll get a file name of YourDimensionName.xdi.xlsx. You can save the dimension on the server by choosing TM1, Developer, DImension Save.

FWIW, any time I have a smallish dimension that has to be in a specific order, that is not alpha sortable, then I use an XDI to ensure I get the dimension ordered exactly as I want it. As others have stated, you CAN accomplish this through TI but it's not nearly as easy if you have an already existing dimension.
Tom O'Kelley - Manager Finance Systems
American Tower
http://www.onlinecourtreservations.com/

wigglyrat
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:09 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10_2_2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by wigglyrat » Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:16 pm

All very helpful, thank you for your replies.

User avatar
paulsimon
MVP
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:10 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1.1 and 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by paulsimon » Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:25 am

Hi

I would also check the }DimensionProperties cube for that dimension to see if any Sort Order has been stored there.

Regards

Paul Simon

babytiger
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:32 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1, EP, Analyst
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2013
Location: Sydney AU

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by babytiger » Fri Feb 26, 2016 6:51 am

Is there a default subset created for this dimension? Is it possible that you were looking at the default subset order instead of the indexed order?
MK

Xavier 13
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:23 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2010

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by Xavier 13 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:21 am

Hello,

I found this topic for the same issue, the button "Set Dimension Order" seams not to be working. It does, but you need to save changes to the structure of the dimension before.

Arrange your elements.
Press "Set Dimension Order" button
Save your changes
Then only re-open the dim editor and your elements indexes will be correct.

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:26 am

Xavier 13 wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:21 am
Hello,

I found this topic for the same issue, the button "Set Dimension Order" seams not to be working. It does, but you need to save changes to the structure of the dimension before.

Arrange your elements.
Press "Set Dimension Order" button
Save your changes
Then only re-open the dim editor and your elements indexes will be correct.
Thanks for posting. But isn't it normal behaviour that you save (or cancel) the changes you make - in this case dimension changes ?
If you don't save, TM1 will ask you anyway.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 105 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: Looping over input files

Xavier 13
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:23 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: Excel 2010

Re: TM1 'Set Dimension Order' Not Working

Post by Xavier 13 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:29 pm

Well it's stupid but I was keeping the subsets editor open and was expecting to see the index changing in the details panel right away after I pressed the button.

Post Reply