TM1 Simple Replicate

Ideas and tips for enhancing your TM1 application
Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Wed Aug 15, 2012 2:36 am

Replicate cubes, rules and other TM1 Objects from development to production?
tm1 simple replicate.JPG
TM1 Simple Replicate
tm1 simple replicate.JPG (28.34 KiB) Viewed 7324 times
Tested with TM1 9.4.1 and 10.1.

Read ReadMe.txt for installation instruction
TM1 Simple Replicate.rar
TM1 Simple Replicate 2.0
(128.88 KiB) Downloaded 664 times
Last edited by Ricky Marwan on Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:43 am, edited 4 times in total.
Ricky Marwan

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:51 pm

Latest version..

Tested using TM1 10.1
Last edited by Ricky Marwan on Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:05 am, edited 2 times in total.
Ricky Marwan

JDLove
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 1:16 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by JDLove » Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:08 am

Hi Ricky,

Thanks for providing these tools, I downloaded and installed the TM1 Simple Replicate and it works as I expected.
I can see the ease of transferring files between servers as being very handy for consultants and developers, very simple and no need to bring a server down it seems.

I guess you need to be very careful and know what you are doing, but in the right hands and in a managed process this really does help.

Keep em coming !

Still yet to test fully, but at first glance I was pretty happy with it !

David Usherwood
Site Admin
Posts: 1318
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by David Usherwood » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:30 pm

Just tried this out. Some feedback:
a Suggest you add a readme.txt explaining that the server settings are changed via the File menu
b Although you have a pair of path settings in the config setting for the bin and the api folders, I think the exe file expects both to be in the
default install (the parameter is greyed out) - and mine is on the d: drive.
Thus I'm stuck at present.
Looks a good idea though, given what a pain object transfer normally is.

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:39 am

David,

Thanks for your feedback.

Updated with readme.txt and run.bat inside archive file

Path setting in Properties window still grayed out, ignore this.
Ricky Marwan

lotsaram
MVP
Posts: 3054
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:14 am
OLAP Product: TM1, CX
Version: TM1 10.2.2 PA 2.0x
Excel Version: 2010 2013 365
Location: Switzerland

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by lotsaram » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:11 am

Hi Ricky, we are using Vizier for object promotion and syncing between servers. I'm wondering does your tool also use the replication API? The Vizier sync has 2 limitations 1/ it doesn't allow for control objects which is annoying when there are drill processes and cubes to sync and 2/ it doesn't allow for syncing of cube data, only cube structure (with the exception of attribute values). How does your tool handle this?

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:53 am

Hi Lotsa,

Not using replication API. 1/ haven't test the tool to sync control cubes myself, my goal only need to sync cube data such as }ClientGroups or }CubeSecurity. looking to add sync security feature in future but not urgently needed for now. 2/ Syncing cube data, simply by extracting cube data with skip zeroes, rule and consolidated values followed by standard cellputn to destination cube. Same logic for others retrieve all objects from left server and put on right server
Ricky Marwan

Paul Segal
Community Contributor
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 8:11 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2010

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Paul Segal » Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:59 am

Hi Ricky,

I've tested this, and it seems to work fine - and a very handy tool. What would be useful (at least from my point of view) would be to have a "star" and "planet" configuration, where you could synch from the "star" to several "planets".

Regards

Paul
Paul

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:15 am

Hi Paul,

Good idea!
What comes in mind is having multiple server config and able to select server to sync. will update in next release.
Ricky Marwan

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:05 am

New Version 2.0

Added new features:
~ Star to Planet selection
~ Sync Client Groups with limitation only Client without password
~ Sync Cube Security Assignments
~ Sync Dimension Security Assignments
~ Sync Process Security Assignments
Ricky Marwan

mw20000
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:17 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2003

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by mw20000 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:44 am

nice tool, i want to try it, but cannot select CAM or integrated authentication. What do I have to do to turn it on?

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:01 am

Sorry, currently only supported for basic connection.
I can turn it on but i don't have any servers using CAM security to test the connection.

So, come back in near future :D
Ricky Marwan

User avatar
Olivier
Community Contributor
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:46 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Tm1 9.4MR1 FP3 HF12
Excel Version: Excel 2003
Location: Sydney

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Olivier » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:02 am

Hi Ricky,

I just had a chance to test this promising application for promotion between servers.

I have some success in moving objects around but I stumped on this particular error several times.
( see attachment).

I believe I have set up everything as indicated in the text file.

Any idea why this occur ?

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
Olivier
Attachments
Error message.png
Error message.png (72.56 KiB) Viewed 6991 times
HTH
Olivier

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:33 am

Hi Olivier,

Which TM1 version you use?

You may check tm1api.h for function
TM1DimensionAttributesGet( TM1P hPool, TM1V hDimension );

It shouldn't be a problem if function exists, did a test with TM1 version 9.4, 9.5.2 and 10.1
Ricky Marwan

User avatar
Olivier
Community Contributor
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:46 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: Tm1 9.4MR1 FP3 HF12
Excel Version: Excel 2003
Location: Sydney

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Olivier » Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:28 pm

Hi Ricky,

Thanks for the feedback.
I checked the function and it was not there in my tm1api.h file.

The 9.4MR1 client I was testing with was not updated with FP3 / HF12...

I checked again after updating the client and the function is now referenced.

I will do some more tests on promotions and post if any issue.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Olivier
HTH
Olivier

mw20000
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:17 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2003

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by mw20000 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:55 pm

Ricky, great tool. I really like!! Thanks

David Usherwood
Site Admin
Posts: 1318
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by David Usherwood » Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:45 pm

Just to record that I have been testing out using TM1 on Ubuntu -see
http://www.tm1forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8222
and found that copying a Windows-based server failed because of case sensitivity. IBM advise using TM1XFER, but ( :x ) don't actually appear to supply it with the main installs! So I had an idea and used your tool instead - which worked rather well (admittedly on quite a small server). Thanks.

Ricky Marwan
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:47 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by Ricky Marwan » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:54 am

Good to hear that the tool useful out there :D
Ricky Marwan

iansdigby
Community Contributor
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:44 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9 + 10
Excel Version: 2007 Professional
Location: Isle of Wight, UK

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by iansdigby » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:21 am

How does he do it? I didn't even realise that processes could be copied/replicated in that way. A masterful performance Mr Marwan!
"the earth is but one country, and mankind its citizens" - Baha'u'llah

abcuser
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:34 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 9.5.2
Excel Version: 0

Re: TM1 Simple Replicate

Post by abcuser » Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:11 am

Both of my TM1 servers (test and production) are using Cognos BI integrated security. So is there a plan to support CAM in this application?

Post Reply