Page 1 of 1

TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:34 pm
by Mike Cowie
Hi everyone,

I thought I'd post something we put together quite a few years ago (in VC++) that I've since updated to correct a few bugs. Included are TM1ChoreExecute.exe and TM1ProcessExecute.exe, which might be of some use to anyone wanting to execute a TI process or chore from a command-line. The Readme gives some basic instruction/documentation, but feel free to send me a PM if you have any problems or questions.
TIExecute.zip
TM1 Process and Chore Executables
(426.49 KiB) Downloaded 2306 times
Version 0.2 Updated 9/6/2008

The usual disclaimers apply... no warranties and not responsible for what the TI process or chore you run does to your TM1 server.

Regards,
Mike

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:52 pm
by wudznet
Hi,

I tried using the TM1ChoreExecute.exe and I always get an error of SystemServerNotfound. I am using TM1 9.4

I am wondering if you can help me..

Thanks very much

Wudz

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:35 am
by Steve Rowe
Wudz, this means that the script is not finding your tm1 host server, either you've not set the parameter for the box running your TM1 server or it can't be seen from where you are running the script.

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:19 am
by wudznet
Thanks Steve ..

I am just newbie in this kind of things .. I am not sure if I need to setup anything from the server or from my batchfile to run TM1ChoreExecute.exe.

Please see below the command from my batch file

TM1ChoreExecute.exe ServerName TM1instance(servername) userID password Chorename

I am not sure if I need anything in my batch file ..

Thanking you

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:14 am
by Steve Rowe
Say you have a TM1 server called TM1Server and it's running on a physical server called TM1Host and you want to run the chore Test, your call should read.

TM1ChoreExecute.exe TM1Host TM1Server User Password Test

Where a user and password is a valid log in with read access to the chore.

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:39 am
by wudznet
Steve Rowe wrote:Say you have a TM1 server called TM1Server and it's running on a physical server called TM1Host and you want to run the chore Test, your call should read.

TM1ChoreExecute.exe TM1Host TM1Server User Password Test

Where a user and password is a valid log in with read access to the chore.
Hi Steve,

I have the same parameter in my batch .. what I did was add another command to log on to the server then execute the TM1ChoreExecute ..

However, I have a different error now TM1ChoreExecute error code 1 .. I am not sure what this is ..

Thanks again ...

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:28 am
by Steve Rowe
Yous shouldn't need to log onto the server seperatly, the chore code handles that. Like you I don't know what the message means, a guess would be that user you are using is only allowed one login (see }client properties) and when the chore execute process logs in it can't?

Cheers

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:21 pm
by MarioRubbo
Does anyone know if a UNIX version of these utilities exists somewhere? I need to kick off a cube build from an external scheduling utility called AutoSys. TM1 is running on an AIX server. Alternately, if anyone can suggest an approach for developing this utility, I would appreciate it. For example, use the TM1 API to create a Java executable on the UNIX server to execute a TI Process/Chore.

Thanks!

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 5:36 pm
by MarioRubbo
Here is a UNIX utility that I've developed using the Java API. For UNIX environments, you can use this to kick off TM1 Chores from an external OS utility and/or scheduling program AutoSys, etc.
utilities.zip
UNIX shell scripts to build and run, Java source and binary to run
(83.5 KiB) Downloaded 259 times

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:51 pm
by Mike Cowie
Hi everyone:

I've just posted a totally new version of a command-line TI process/chore execution utility here:
http://forums.olapforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=3486

Sorry for the delay. This replaces the older TM1ChoreExecute and TM1ProcessExecute command-line utilities included in this thread, and now has support for CAM login methods.

Regards,
Mike

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:58 am
by jim wood
Thanks Mike. We have been using the original schedule execute version without a problem fro around 12 months.

Excellent stuff and fine example of what this community is capable of.

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 11:43 am
by Mike Cowie
jim wood wrote:Thanks Mike. We have been using the original schedule execute version without a problem fro around 12 months.
Hi Jim,

Thanks very much for the feedback. You bring up a very good point that I should have highlighted: there is no reason to stop using TM1ProcessExecute or TM1ChoreExecute if they are already working well for you. The newer version is mainly intended to address the need for additional login methods for things like Cognos Express (which were tough to squeeze into the existing EXE's command-line structure) and to allow some client SSL configuration.

Regards,
Mike

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:13 pm
by ub14
In TM1 10.2 is there any option to call TI Process/Chores from Autoys for Unix or Windows Environments.

Re: TI Chore and Process EXEs

Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 12:51 pm
by qml
ub14 wrote:In TM1 10.2 is there any option to call TI Process/Chores from Autoys for Unix or Windows Environments.
I can't believe you are asking this in a thread where not only is there already an answer, but there are also ready tools uploaded for both UNIX and Windows that you can just download and use!