Selecting whole text in TI tab

Ideas and tips for enhancing your TM1 application
Post Reply
jstrygner
MVP
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:35 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5.2 FP3
Excel Version: 2010

Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by jstrygner » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:44 am

By accident I found a way to select whole text in a TI tab (there is no Ctrl+A, at least in my 9.5.1).
You press 'Tab' key that changes the focus from text field with TI code to 'Goto Line...' button.
Pressing 'Tab' once more selects whole text in active TI tab.

Regards.

User avatar
Steve Rowe
Site Admin
Posts: 1626
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:25 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2., PAW
Excel Version: Nearly all of them

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by Steve Rowe » Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:37 am

Nice tip, used that many times since I saw your post. Cheers

dilip
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:22 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2003

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by dilip » Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:07 pm

Thanks

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by Wim Gielis » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:29 am

Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 103 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: TM1 message log analysis with Power Query

dilip
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:22 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2003

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by dilip » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:39 am

Very nice..Thanks for sharing other shortcuts.

hiraniha
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by hiraniha » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:52 am

When does this help you?

It also selects the two special lines, which means you can only copy an paste it to another editor, but when you copy it back you have to then select the old fashioned way otherwise you can't paste back, am I missing some advantage of this?

#****Begin: Generated Statements***
#****End: Generated Statements****

btw, another keyboard combination is <ctrl>-<i>, which will put a tab character into the code, I don't use it as I prefer a couple of spaces.
regards

hiraniha

User avatar
jim wood
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2007
Location: 1639 Route 10, Suite 107, Parsippany, NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by jim wood » Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:57 pm

hiraniha wrote:When does this help you?
When deploying code without bringing services down? Simply copying code from one to another....
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Application Consulting Group (ACG) TM1 Consulting
OS: Windows 7 64-bit. TM1 Version: 10.1.1

hiraniha
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by hiraniha » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:01 pm

Hi Jim,

That's my point, it will select the generated lines in both source and target, which means you have to revert to a manual method, like Ctrl/Shift/End.

I was just wondering if there was something I was missing that meant selecting everything helped.
regards

hiraniha

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by Wim Gielis » Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:56 am

hiraniha,

You're not missing something here, there just is no other way to do efficient copy/paste of code in TI.
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 103 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: TM1 message log analysis with Power Query

User avatar
jim wood
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2007
Location: 1639 Route 10, Suite 107, Parsippany, NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by jim wood » Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:14 pm

I can't see the issue. When you paste you just have to delete the top few lines. No exactly a big deal, especially compared to selecting manually the whole tab of a TI that has hundreds of lines of code. How does that make this unhelpful?
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Application Consulting Group (ACG) TM1 Consulting
OS: Windows 7 64-bit. TM1 Version: 10.1.1

hiraniha
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by hiraniha » Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:13 pm

Jim,

I am stilling missing the trick, so I see it helps when you are pasting into a new TI tab, that is blank. Then you delete the two generated lines. Debatable as to whether the good old fashioned crtl/shift/end from the first line of the code isn't actually quicker.

If I am migrating a change to an existing TI, I copy the entire tab using the described way of selecting everything, then what is the trick when selecting everything on the target, as this method selects the generated lines so I can't delete or paste it without an error. If I try to delete the code comes back, and if I paste it it keep the original code and the new code, which is worse.

I thought this was trying to suggest a trick way of still pasting the code? Perhaps not, in that case a crtl/shift/end from the first line of the code does the job much better.
regards

hiraniha

User avatar
jim wood
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2007
Location: 1639 Route 10, Suite 107, Parsippany, NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by jim wood » Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:06 pm

The reply was based on you saying when does this help you. You didn't compare it to any other way of doing it. I'm not doubting there are other ways that you may prefer but dismiss this as you did is the reason why you got the replies you did. You need to make sure that:

a) You're not so dismissive
b) If you do have a valid reason for a) you back up within your initial reply, not 4 posts later.
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Application Consulting Group (ACG) TM1 Consulting
OS: Windows 7 64-bit. TM1 Version: 10.1.1

hiraniha
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:27 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP1
Excel Version: 2010

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by hiraniha » Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:45 pm

Jim,

Not sure if I have offended you. Apologies If I have.

All I was trying to determine was if I was missing something on how to use this as I couldn't get it to paste properly and deal with the generated statements.

I was hoping that someone was going to suggest a little trick to handle that
regards

hiraniha

Wim Gielis
MVP
Posts: 1425
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:26 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: PAL 2.0
Excel Version: 2016
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Selecting whole text in TI tab

Post by Wim Gielis » Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:42 am

hiraniha, did you see my post above ? I wrote that you were not missing something and there isn't (at least to my knowledge) any neat trick out there.

I usually copy/paste to Notepad++ (all code at once, with Tab-Tab), then I edit the code there, I go to the top of the file in Notepad++ with Ctrl-Home, I hit Ctrl-L a couple of times, I do Ctrl-A, Ctrl-C and then I Ctrl-V in the TI tab (where I first select the text after the generated statements).
Best regards,

Wim Gielis

Excel Most Valuable Professional, 2011-2014
http://www.wimgielis.com ==> 103 TM1 articles and a lot of custom code
Newest blog article: TM1 message log analysis with Power Query

Post Reply