SR#11-82215321 - Excel - TM1 9.0 SP3 Build 182 - SUBNM

Post bug reports and the status of reported bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
Steve Vincent
Site Admin
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 8:33 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.2.2 FP1
Excel Version: 2010
Location: UK

SR#11-82215321 - Excel - TM1 9.0 SP3 Build 182 - SUBNM

Post by Steve Vincent » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:30 pm

SUBNM is supposed to lookup a value from a SUBSET by using either the subset index number OR the element name. It also has the ability to do that lookup based upon an alias, but it's not working correctly when using the element name.

If a subset called "Valid" contains the elements A, B and C then the formula SUBNM(server:dim,"Valid",1) will report a value of "A". This is correct.

If the formula SUBNM(server:dim,"Valid","D") is written however, the SUBNM will return "D" as long as its valid within the DIMENSION. This is incorrect, as "D" is not an element within the "Valid" SUBSET.

If a user wanted to check if an element existing in the DIMENSION, then they would use DIMIX not SUBNM.

SUBNM, when using an element name, should only return a value when the element exists in the SUBSET, not the DIMENSION. I believe the current functionality is incorrect and should be amended.
If this were a dictatorship, it would be a heck of a lot easier, just so long as I'm the dictator.
Production: TM1 64 bit 10.2.2, Windows 2008/2012 Server. Excel 2010, IE11 for t'internet

mmatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:35 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: TM1 10.2.2, Jedox 6
Excel Version: Excel 2016
Location: Budapest

Re: SR#11-82215321 - Excel - TM1 9.0 SP3 Build 182 - SUBNM

Post by mmatt » Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:31 am

Hi, Vincent

could you help me? I come back in this weeks to TM1 after long time. Do you know about the status of this SUBNM issue?
I'm using 10.2.2 FP5 but this issue is exactly the same as for 8 years!
Is there any workaround?

Thank you for an answer.

Best regards,
Attila

ardi
Community Contributor
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:41 pm
OLAP Product: tm1, cognos bi
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2007

Re: SR#11-82215321 - Excel - TM1 9.0 SP3 Build 182 - SUBNM

Post by ardi » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:35 pm

This has been always an issue, even within a TI Process, there was no function to check if an element exists in a given subset, until the last Fix Pack ( 10.2.2 FP6 ), now there a new function to check for that

mmatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:35 pm
OLAP Product: TM1, Jedox
Version: TM1 10.2.2, Jedox 6
Excel Version: Excel 2016
Location: Budapest

Re: SR#11-82215321 - Excel - TM1 9.0 SP3 Build 182 - SUBNM

Post by mmatt » Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:38 pm

Thanx ardi, you save me lot of time.

Post Reply