Issue with TM1 Measure Data Format in Cognos BI 10.1.1

Post Reply
User avatar
redraven71
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:35 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 10.1
Excel Version: 2010

Issue with TM1 Measure Data Format in Cognos BI 10.1.1

Post by redraven71 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:15 pm

I want to pass this information along to the TM1 community in the event that anyone experiences the issue I have experienced when working with TM1 data in the Cognos BI environment, namely version Cognos BI version 10.1.1.

When developing a list report in Cognos BI report studio against a package built from a TM1 cube, it was discovered that using a function (in this case, cast) against an element from the measure data, it caused the format of all the other data elements within the measure dimension to also change. After not finding an answer from the vast number of resources I have available, I turned in a request to IBM for their assistance/advice. The feedback returned was that this is a known issue with Cognos BI 10.1.1 as covered under PM54643 (link to APAR http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.w ... wg1PM54643). The solution is to do a full upgrade to Cognos BI 10.2.

My hope in posting this is to save others the amount of time it took for me to try to find a solution. Thank you!

User avatar
jim wood
Site Admin
Posts: 3510
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 1:51 pm
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: TM1 10.2.2
Excel Version: 2007
Location: 1639 Route 10, Suite 107, Parsippany, NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with TM1 Measure Data Format in Cognos BI 10.1.1

Post by jim wood » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:27 pm

Good to know. Thanks for the info,

Jim.
Struggling through the quagmire of life to reach the other side of who knows where.
Application Consulting Group (ACG) TM1 Consulting
OS: Windows 7 64-bit. TM1 Version: 10.1.1

User avatar
mce
Community Contributor
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:01 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: TM1 10.2
Excel Version: 2010 2013
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Issue with TM1 Measure Data Format in Cognos BI 10.1.1

Post by mce » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:47 pm

Yeah I remember we first raised this issue with IBM last year in a PMR and they concluded it as a product defect and raised this APAR.

User avatar
mce
Community Contributor
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:01 pm
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: TM1 10.2
Excel Version: 2010 2013
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Issue with TM1 Measure Data Format in Cognos BI 10.1.1

Post by mce » Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:10 pm

just to clarify, this issue applies only to String Measures from a TM1 cube. Applying certain functions to such measures in Report Studio was causing issues.

Post Reply