Report Studio. Using data from TM1 and Relational DB

Post Reply
abulloch
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:29 am
OLAP Product: Cognos TM1
Version: 9.4
Excel Version: 2007

Report Studio. Using data from TM1 and Relational DB

Post by abulloch » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:18 pm

Good day.

I need to create a report that shows variances between sales data off TM1 cube and what is actually in Syspro Database. My report currently shows both sets of data, each in it's own crosstab. Is it possible to somehow reference the two crosstabs in order to get a variance in a separate crosstab?. The final variance is the result I require. This can be in a separate report.

Any ideas.

regards

Allan Bulloch

David Usherwood
Site Admin
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 9:09 am

Re: Report Studio. Using data from TM1 and Relational DB

Post by David Usherwood » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:58 pm

Why not pull the relational data into TM1? Variances would then be very easy and fast.

kharon
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:52 am
OLAP Product: TM1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2003

Re: Report Studio. Using data from TM1 and Relational DB

Post by kharon » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 am

Of course that's a way to pull the data into TM1, but that will be another data copy step...

If you want to avoid that, you can try to join your result queries and create a third query to show both (and the variance)

Regards

ParisHilton
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:35 am
OLAP Product: Tm1
Version: 9.5
Excel Version: 2007 2010

Re: Report Studio. Using data from TM1 and Relational DB

Post by ParisHilton » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:46 pm

But of course, if you do it in the report, you open the door to other users doing it in the report, and then doing it differently and then giving two different answers ;)
“The way I see it, you should live everyday like its your birthday”


TM1 9.5 Cognos BI 8.4 Excel 2007. 128GB Ram. E7450@2.40Ghz -24 core. Fluffy white dog.

Post Reply